Wisdom #7

Staying in theme with one of my last posts about me currently reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (and my being obsessed with it at the moment), I figured a quote from Jane Austen herself would fit perfectly for today’s piece of wisdom.

It didn’t take me long to find one that I liked. I almost thought about taking a quote from the novel itself, but decided that one from the author herself might work just as well. Today’s quote is:

“It isn’t what we say or think that defines us, but what we do.”

I wholeheartedly agree with this. Of course, what we say or think can and most often does, play a role in how we are defined, but that can also depend on who is doing the defining and possibly in what context as well. This of course also applies to the fact that our actions define who we are. Someone could argue how what is said or thought could be connected and a possible influential factor in one’s actions.

Well that is my two cents for the day and I hope that it made at least a little sense! Comments are of course welcome!

One thought on “Wisdom #7

  1. Thanks for your post. I’m not so confident of this Jane Austen quote. The Jewish philosopher Martin Buber, I think, suggest Being is foundational. But for the time being, Frank Sinatra best put it: “Do bee, do bee, do.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

