Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I finished Pride and Prejudice. I absolutely fell in love with this book and I never wanted it to end! Before I get into my experience reading it and what not, I’m going to give the basics first:

Title: Pride & Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Rating: 4.5/5

Now, before I get people telling me that this novel deserves a full five, let me explain. I would agree with those that would have given it a five, but the only reason why I didn’t – and I will say that my reason is completely an opinion and a personal reason – is because at many points I felt a little lost, mostly because of the older styles of language and writing. On one hand I hate to deduct because of that, since Austen’s language and writing style is a huge aspect of the story itself, but again it’s a personal reason and opinion. Hope no one hates me for it :)

While being a woman during that particular time period may not have been the best, especially compared to today, I still wanted to go back in time to be a part of that world. The simplicity, the stronger relationships and friendships, and the balls, where dancing was more respectable! To live in that time to just experience it would be amazing.

I don’t think that I need to go on much further about the novel or how wonderful a writer Jane Austen is.

So this book starts my classic book list and reading challenge. I didn’t want to start the second book until I got possible feedback on my list that I posted the other day and I wasn’t sure which book I wanted to read next anyways. So I am currently reading Chocolat by Joanne Harris, which I recommend.

If anyone has recommendations on which book from my classic book list to read next, let me know!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. I’m not so sure if life is simpler in the time setting of Jane Austen’s novels. Social customs or convention seem more complex, but the advantage of a culture rich in social customs is that men and women know what to do or say to each other, in my opinion, in a more straight forward way. Despite the sexual revolution and the downplaying of social conventions since the 1960s, we’re more lost than ever when it comes to romance. As a contrast to Pride and Prejudice, you might want to try Wuthering Heights. Its heavy use of Yorkshire dialect is a stumbling block. Once I got past that, it was a remarkable novel to read.

    Like

  2. Thanks for the thought! You have a good point on social customs being a little more complex, but it could also be that they are just different compared to now as well. I do agree that today’s society is more lost when it comes to romance … maybe we put too much thought or something into the idea. Who knows.

    I will keep Wuthering Heights in mind, thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

