“Look Up”

Not that long ago, on April 25, 2014, a guy named Gary Turk posted a video called Look Up. Many of you may have seen this video, especially since it went viral, floating around the internet.

I finally watched it today.

It really hits home. I was born in 1991, so that makes me a part of the Gen Y or the Millennial cohort, so to speak. I vaguely remember the days of my childhood where I played outside or with toys. Not with an iPad or smartphone. Yes, I had a Nintendo 64 in the late 90’s and played Playstation games with my best friend sometimes, but it was never the first thing we went to.

I remember riding my scooter up and down my street for hours after school. By myself. I loved it. I rarely see or hear about kids willingly being outside to play for hours.

They would rather play on the computer, the iPad, play video games, or watch TV than go outside and simply play.

I’m 22 and I miss the childhood games I would play with my friends, games that we made up everyday. I miss the swings and the jungle gym. I miss hopscotch.

I won’t lie, I know I’ve used my iPhone a lot and my computer, hell I’m starting a blog, but at least I recognize the truth about how social media doesn’t always equal with being social.

This video definitely coincides with my new pursuit of a healthier and fitter me. I hope to be able to take the time to look up more often.

Comments and other thoughts are always welcome!

 

One thought on ““Look Up”

  1. […] 5. Detach myself a little more from the internet and social media. I’m not going to completely go off the grid so to say. I’m going to limit myself from always going through Facebook or Instagram. I will probably delete Twitter and Snapchat, I hardly ever use them and I think Snapchat has become a little useless, to me at least. I don’t want to be another one of those people who never looks up from their phone. (check out my post on the video Look Up, here). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

