What I’ve Learned Since Graduating College

I am 23, a college graduate, and I’m living at home with my parents again.

And I am not alone. Roughly 51% of those aged 18-23 are living at home, where 14% of those aged 24-34 are living at home (Gallup). Yeah, I am definitely not the only college graduate who had to move back home after college.

But, you know what? I am totally fine with it! So I’m not following my original “plan” that I had for after college. That is just one of many things that I learned since graduating college and entered the “real world”. And so starts my list of what I’ve learned so far since graduating college …

1. It’s good to have some kind of plan for after college, but just make sure it’s flexible or that you can adapt to situations easily.

2. Unless you’re going to grad school or have a job already lined up, the summer after you graduate is your last free summer. Make it count.

3. Although I recommend finding a balance between having fun and applying to jobs.

4. Which reminds me, looking for a job can be hard. Going through the process of looking, applying, and if you’re lucky, interviewing, can be hard, time consuming, exhausting, and sometimes frustrating.

5. Moving back home may have to be an option. It’s been one of my best decisions I’ve made. I have a job, I’m close to my family, and I’m saving money. It may not be for everyone, but I think if you can, you should at least think about it.

6. Not every job you’re going to have is going to be a good one, either in general or for you. My first job that I got when I moved back home was terrible, mostly because I didn’t have that great of a manager. But that’s going to happen. What do you do? You learn from it and apply it to the future if needed.

7. Patience really is a virtue. I had patience when I was looking for my second job and it paid off. I now love where I work.

8. I currently may not be in my dream job position, but let’s be honest I don’t have a definite idea what that is. And you know what? That is perfectly okay! I just have to keep working hard and learning and I will figure it out! :)

9. Moving away from close friends is hard, but communication doesn’t have to be. Finding new friends is hard, but I’m slowly taking my own advice and getting out of my comfort zone.

10. Like I posted earlier, taking the steps to growing up and becoming more of an adult, a mature, responsible one, is really really scary. But it’s also liberating and comforting. Knowing that I can be that mature and responsible person is a great feeling! (having my parents around for advice doesn’t hurt either)

So, there are ten quick things that I’ve learned so far since moving back home. Have any to add? Let me know!

Gallup link, here.

Leave a Reply

