What’s Your Super Book?

What? Super Book?

This was another question that my boss asked me several weeks ago during a company breakfast. He knows I read during my lunch break every day, everyone in the office does actually.

So he asked since I read so much, what is my super book?

My mind went completely blank. I couldn’t remember a book, not that I could remember all of them.

So, I said the first book that I could remember, which was The Giver by Lois Lowry. I had finished reading it the week before for the second time.

Anyways – I’m sure many avid readers are similar to me when it comes to picking your favorite book, which is near impossible!  It’s hard to just pick one!

I’ve read so many books from so many different genres and with different themes, etc! I can tell you that I generally gear towards the sci fi/ fantasy genre, but do enjoy most genres.

I wonder what the next question my boss is going to ask me …

Do you have a super book? I would love to know!

30 thoughts on “What’s Your Super Book?

  1. Hmm,

    Anna Karenina
    Never Let Me Go
    The God of Small Things
    The Great Gatsby
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    The Picture of Dorian Gray
    Brave New World

    I just couldn’t pick only one!

    Like

  2. When that question comes up To Kill a Mockingbird always pops up first in my mind. Having taught it over ten years I never tire of its brilliance and depth of social commentary.

    Like

  3. You spend time waiting for the boss to ask such questions?:P Do you sit in a vacant room with nothing to do until the next question arrives? Is this a slow-moving TV series? [I kid.]

    I can’t pick a “super book” any better than I can pick a super movie or TV series. I can look through the list for a year and pick out the best. But, I don’t think I can pick one anything over the rest in its league…with some exceptions when the situation demands.

    Your genre of choice tends to be mine, as well. Though, I usually steer away from Star Wars/Trek-ish material unless it’s original, thought-provoking and comical enough to appear fresh and not a sad clone.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading! Questions like these come up randomly in conversations with my boss.

      Yes, it is hard to pick just one out of everything, but I agree that I think I could pick a best from the year.

      I haven’t read too many books that are Star Wars-ish. I’m currently making my way through a classic novel list.

      Like

      • You make a good point that it may be overused. I am referring to novels like pride and prejudice, to kill a mockingbird – I am currently reading the brothers karamazov by Dostoyevsky. I can’t really think of a different word besides classic – though maybe timeless would work? Idk.

        Like

      • UGH! Those classics. I prefer to call them dusty old English tomes. It’s hard for me to digest period pieces…especially French or English ones. I have next to zero interest in “Revolutionary war” stories and old dynasties…unless it’s a Far East tale. Then, I might give old war stories a chance.

        ‘Mockingbird is one of those “must read for school” books I didn’t get into well. I preferred “A Tale of Two Cities,” “One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich” and “Call of the Wild”/”White Fang.”

        Like

      • Haha yes I’m reading those classics, mostly just to say that I did, or at least tried. And yes some of them on my list are ones that I had to read for school, years ago. Couldn’t get into mockingbird huh? I’ve never read any of the books you listed though.

        Like

      • I’d rather sit through a lousy movie just to say I saw some acclaimed “epic of the time” than spend the time it would take for me to complete the same in a book. Although I’d probably rather compare notes with a beautiful bookworm in a sweater coat, blue jeans and nerdy specs, it’s easier for me to FFWD through the bad parts of a movie:P

        One regret I have is “Citizen Kane.” As it was referenced in a recent cartoon series, “It was his sled! There; I just saved you two and a half hours of your life.”

        Well, you should check out my list then, perhaps:) I am already familiar with yours. Another good series I am considering going back to–though it gets a lil creepy at parts–is the “Blue Sword” trilogy of Robin McKinley. Though, technically, I’ve only read the second book:P “The Hero and the Crown.” It’s kind of like Harry Potter meets “How to Train Your Dragon,” “Grendel” and “Quest for Camelot.”

        Like

      • You make a valid point. I am totally prepared to hate at least one book from my list. I’m only trudging through brothers karamazov because my best friend told me I should read it (and he wouldn’t let me donate it). And thanks for the compliment?

        I could always just read the end of a book or a summary and say I know what’s it about :) never seen citizen kane.

        I definitely will! I enjoy hearing what others are reading :) I like robin McKinley, though I’ve only read her novel Sunshine so far. The trilogy sounds like an epic read

        Like

      • Trudging through books for the sake of completing them like a chore is no good. I once had a teacher tell me a book has to grab you within the first chapter. If it doesn’t, you should pass on it.

        Like

      • I only say trudging because it’s Russian literature and there are so many monologues and nicknames, it’s hard to keep track. I had teacher tell me that too, except she said something along the lines of giving a book a chance until page 30.

        Like

      • Well, most hefty reads spend roughly 30 pages on the prologue/first chapter. There were some hefty chapters in “A Tale of Two Cities” which made me have a small panic attack. But, championing through that one left me with some faded memories of intriguing mood/set design.

        The same teacher told me to strive to impress with the first sentence. She said don’t make it simple/short. 25-32 words with “spark.” Grab the reader quick and leave him/her wanting more.

        Like

      • True. Championing, such a better word than trudging! A first sentence can essentially be the first impression, sounds like your teacher was a good one!

        Like

      • Some of my teachers were so good that the works of published authors both in newspapers and modern fiction infuriate me. My teachers scarred me with red marks across every page. I wonder if they’d treat these authors/writers I encounter nowadays the same way. Or, have the laws of English changed? One of my big concerns is that language translation will fall into ruin because every language will get sloppy in its written form and throw people off, thus ruining the hopes for global communication/understanding.

        Like

      • Interesting and kind of scary to think about, considering what could be lost if that happens. I always find spelling mistakes in printed work

        Like

      • I am reading a detective/murder mystery series said to be one of if not the best under the “banner” of the New York Times (best sellers list), and am repeatedly tempted to break out a red pen and make corrections. But, some sentences are just too much of a mess to correct. I also find it bothersome how different PC programs can correct my writing differently. I’ve heard their are various “templates” for grammar/editing, but the PC programs don’t specify which they use.

        Like

      • I have used MS Word Processing and Word Perfect (Win XP) in the past. In pre-internet school, we used one or the other in an earlier form, too.

        Gotta get back to babysitting for the day. But, good talking with you. Bring some of this to my chat space, and maybe others will join the discussion.

        Like

      • Ha! Actually, that’s how I was going to get into Harry Potter. I was going to read the last few pages of book 7 and say I got the gist of the series. But, that later felt lame.

        If I stick to the golden rule, I don’t want people reading the end of my stories/books and saying they gave it their all. So, I can’t do that, either.

        I’ve heard good things about “Sunshine” and am considering it/putting it on the “wish to read” list. I’d be better off finding someone close to home who’s reading it at the same time or who just finished and can lend me the book. I also have a book by her about a woman and her dog. The title slips my mind. But, I picked it up with a copy of “The Hero and the Crown” because I liked the cover. Why I never read it right away, I dunno.

        What compliment?

        Like

      • I don’t know of you could have gotten the gist of Harry potter by reading the last few pages, maybe ..

        I definitely recommend sunshine, I reread a second time several months ago. Ever since, I’ve been trying to find another book to read by her. Well this is probably going to be embarrassing, but I got a lot confused by the description in a earlier comment, sounded like my profile pic – my bad for the mistake.

        Like

      • Well, the gist was he had to face his nightmarish tormentor who had done terrible things to his family and friends. I am not sure how far back I’d have to go to get the full extent of that much, but I know it’s before he grows old and sends his own kid off to Hogwarts:P I saw all of the movies, though:D I only liked the first 3-4.

        I can’t imagine re-reading any book…except maybe a few from my school days because I’ve just about forgotten the meat of them. But, once I revisit them, I am not sure I need to repeat. Some say books are like friends, but if your friends said the same things every day, wouldn’t that get old fast?:P Like those video games that simulate conversations/dating.

        Or, maybe you just fit the bookworm profile:) When I compliment, I try to compliment directly/personally. ‘Same goes for insults. People take things I say personally and add words I haven’t used. That irks me. When I want to attack/hurt you, I will do so far more directly.

        Like

      • I only like the first few movies too. Though I will always have fond memories of reading them. But it’s one series I don’t think I’ll reread again.

        I don’t always reread books, but if I do, I always have at least two years in between reads. Some books I reread because I just enjoy the story, while others it’s because I remember it being a good story but can’t remember the meat as you said.

        Some books I reread, I find something new, like a detail, that I missed in a previous read, but not always.

        Haha maybe :)

        Like

      • I find it interesting that–though I have not raved over the series and all its merchandising madness–I am “imprinted” by the words of the author who said she felt rushed with the later books until she was given time to fully flush out the finale. It keeps me thinking that I should complete any series I wish to write before going to a publisher. Or, at least, give myself a three-four book head start.

        I am still debating self-publishing (cheap) and going through the gauntlet of larger, professional publishing. Another pair of authors I keep in mind for their experiences are J. D. Salinger and the author of “To Kill a Mockingbird” whose name slips my mind. The stories of their “success” and trials are good lessons.

        Like

      • I’m sure there are pros and cons to both self publishing and going to a big company, though I don’t really know much about publishing. You have a finished novel?

        Like

      • One of my fav. colors is green, too, I should mention, though the Greek blue/white combo you’re wearing in that profile/avatar pic suits you nicely (see? :D).

        I have yet to finish any of my MAAAAANY started novels. [I still haven’t finished the one I first started writing in 1994. It’s like Cameron’s “Avatar” in its requirement of “stew time” but taking far longer to complete:P] I have only completed 2 pick-a-path books which are slightly different from any I have read in my lifetime (which include roughly 3 styles/formats). I sold my old collection, sadly, to buy video games. Not long ago, I started ordering used–and sadly beat-up–copies of some online just to hold those old friends, again.

        Like

      • Green is an awesome color. Haha thanks :)

        I tried writing a book, but I only ever finished a couple chapters at most. It was mostly a way to get an idea out of my head. Poetry is easier for me. Writing a novel sounds rough

        Like

      • Okay, one more response and then I gotta run:P

        Depends on the shade of green, of course. But, I can find a green that suits just about anyone.

        Well, one mistake I’ve been making with writing books is trying to write them from A to Z instead of outlining the chapters with a goal in mind and THEN filling the numbers with smaller goals (similar to how some say we should live our daily lives). I would start a story/book on page one with a general idea in mind and no clear-cut direction. The energy fizzled too fast, turning my novel into a wishy-washy “fan fiction” of something already done. I need to develop characters, settings and the direction of the plot better before diving into the heart of the writing.

        I gave up on poetry in high school. Everything started to either sound like a lame limerick or incomplete sentences. When poetry/prose sounds like a novel cut into pieces, it doesn’t feel like poetry, anymore. So, I shoved that notion aside and turned to writing short stories and novels. A few years ago, I got tired of hitting walls (because I keep seeing multiple paths to take my stories) and decided to give pick-a-paths a try. I’ve developed a semi-unique formula which could revolutionize the genre (if you can call it that). But, it’s still evolving like PC program (beta) testing. At the very least, I can say I completed a book before the end of the world (2012).

        Like

Leave a Reply

