Run, Nicole, Run!

Last week I started running again. As I type this, I am still wondering why I decided to.

Well I have an answer. I started running again because I told my mom that I would run a half marathon with her.

I haven’t ran in several years and suddenly I say – Sure mom, I will train and run a half marathon with you.

I tried running several months ago, but I felt absolutely terrible afterwards. Last week, however, I felt pretty great! I (and my mom) think that I felt a lot better because I’ve been doing Prima Barre, which has really strengthened my core and leg muscles. I didn’t realized just how much of a difference having strong muscles in the rest of your body makes.

Last week I was able to run about 3 miles, with only having stopped twice for a quick walk. I know 3 miles doesn’t sound like a lot, but it is my mind.

Part of me hates running, but now that I don’t feel absolutely terrible during and after a run anymore, part of me is starting to tolerate it. Next step is coming to like it. One thing that I forgot I enjoyed was that I am able to easily relax my mind and my thoughts empty for a while – its nice.

I look forward to sharing my journey with running and training for a half marathon (which is in May) with you! Have a great day! :)

 

2 thoughts on “Run, Nicole, Run!

Leave a Reply

