The 5am Club, Trainers, Gyms … Oh My!

I have been in a workout slump for the past two weeks now and I want to get out of it. Really, I do!

I’ve just lost my direction a little. Or maybe a lot. Either way, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking of how I want to move forward, which has left me a little confused. Here’s the three things that are creating the confusion:

1. Get a Trainer: I first started thinking that I wanted to get a trainer. Having a professional to work out ‘with’ would be awesome! And most likely worth it.

2. Join a Gym: I really need to start doing cardio. I was running once a week – okay I did it for three weeks and then fell into my slump. But a gym would give me a place to go do at least 30 minutes of cardio at least three times a week.

3. The 5am Club: This is where I’m hating the healthy life. The possibility of joining the 5am club.

Let me tell you why I’m confused. I work full time, 8:30 – 5:30, which means I’m up at 6:30 to be out the door by 7:10 (yes, traffic sucks and it takes me 40 minutes to an hour to get to work, so I leave early). Leaving at 5:30, I don’t get home until 6:30. I’m in bed by 9:30, so that I feel rested enough to even think about getting up at 6:30ish.

The Barre class I was taking got moved to 6:30 pm instead of 6:45 pm, so it got a lot more stressful trying to get to workout class. I want stress taken out of my life, not added. So, with a gym, especially one open 24 hours or at least really early to really late, gives more hours to choose when to get a work out in.

But I live in a smaller town, which has steadily been growing over the last several years, but not enough to have more than one box gym. All we have is a 24 hour, which I crossed out because its ridiculously expensive for a multiple location membership.

A trainer would also be expensive, but in my mind worth it. However, because the time I get home from work can change almost daily, to be able to have a work out routine where the time doesn’t change constantly would be marvelous, but that means either 5 am or 5:30 am trainer work out or going a later 6:45 pm or 7 pm, which would probably push my dinner to late.

I’ve narrowed down gyms and where I would get a trainer. The trainer would be through a small, non chain gym in my city, which I’m also thinking of joining the gym itself too. However, they only have the one location and only three group classes, which I cannot make any. Right now, I’m stuck between that gym, Crunch, and Anytime Fitness.

With Crunch and Anytime Fitness, they both have long hours and a lot of classes to choose from. Crunch is inexpensive and there’s one close to work and home (though the one close to home received mixed reviews on Yelp). Anytime Fitness only has one location near me and its right in the middle between work and home right off the freeway. The small gym in my city has pretty good hours and received nothing but good reviews.

I am completely lost! If anyone has advice to offer, I would love it!!

Leave a Reply

