Words of Wisdom

I love that you can find wonderfully inspiring words and quotes from just about anywhere, from a variety of people. In the last couple of days, I have found a a few different sources, but today I’m going to share from one, just because I’m feeling more visual today. (The other great source I will post about on Thursday).

I’m sure most of you know about Thought Catalog and if you don’t I suggest checking it out once in a while. (note: you will find a variety of articles on there, some good, some bad, just like anyplace). Earlier today I came upon this article, that just lists out some great quotes about love and life. The ones I want reshare are more focused on life and resonate deeply with me; I hope they do at least a little of the same for you.

7a4c543211f46a3c49b2a68baa07f8d8

“The pain that you’ve been feeling, can’t compare to the joy that’s coming”

Romans 8:18

I continuously forget to look towards the Bible for inspiration and strength, but I always feel even a little comforted when I find a verse that sticks with me.

bac45a2abf2f97a933f3391a19966e47

“Faith is taking the first step even when you can’t see the whole staircase”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Faith. Relying on just faith has been a roller coaster of ups and downs for me. Some times I’m okay with things I can’t completely control and just relying on faith that things will work out or continue to work out. I don’t necessarily consider myself a control freak, but I like knowing and planning, two things that I know are very closely linked to having control. Maybe down the road I’ll be better with taking that first step when I don’t really know the remaining ones.

d8efd797548dd7655f32b70bfc5c6fef

“The thing I’m most afraid of is me. Of not knowing what I’m going to do. Of not knowing what I’m doing right now.”

Haruki Murakami

I think this is a huge thing with me right now and is related to the quote before. I also think its a huge theme with many twenty somethings. We’ve gone through the motions of going to K-12 school, college, and then, what? I don’t about every twenty something, but while I have a full time job, I still find myself asking that ‘what?’ question. What is it that I really should be doing? What is it that I want to do? What really comes next?

What are the answers to these, and all the other questions racing through our minds?

I think that’s where we, or at least where I, get stuck, because the answers are different for every person. Every answer needs to be discovered in a way, not just handed to us. I think for me personally, that has always been hard, not because it means there is work involved, but because I might go discovering and then find the wrong answer ; and I could end up doing that multiple times. And that scares me. But I need to find a way to fear not having those moments and memories versus the fear of not having the right answer the first time, every time.

0798292b790298e20f0214f0b1649920

“Can you remember who you were, before the world told you who you should be?”

Danielle LaPorte

The world and society, specifically the smaller society we mainly live, are huge influencers in our lives. Some have successfully ignored most of the influence and started to live life they wanted to, not caring if they were living a slightly or completely unconventional life. They discovered what truly made them happy and they went for it. Me, and probably many others, are having trouble with figuring out what really, truly makes us happy. I think we have trouble because we grow up seeing what everyone else is doing with their lives, even those in the same generation as us, and see them happy or at least content, and we think, ‘Oh, so that’s what I have to do, what I have to achieve, in order to be happy and content.

But that isn’t necessarily right. Society has shown us that its money, a well paying job (no matter if you even like it), a nice house, and a nice car that are major factors in the equation that equals happiness. Sure, that works for many people, but not everyone. For me, I think I like the idea of that, mostly because when I think about those things, I obviously think of stability. To have them would be nice, but what, if anything, would I give up to attain those things? Do I even want any of those things?

There’s that question again – What do I want?

I think one of the first steps, for me, is to figure out who I was before all this other stuff started stressing me out and making me anxious plus a whole lot of other things. It’s hard to figure out what it is that you want or even an idea of what you want if you don’t really know your true self.

0e4c7d8c14a76083270fac3595ab3ae0

“Respect yourself enough to walk away form anything that no longer serves you, grows you, or makes you happy.”

I love this quote. It is a very simple concept, but not always simple or easy to do. Take me for example. I currently live with my parents in Southern California, a place that I definitely do not want to stay living in. However, moving to a different city, in most likely a different state, can be stressful and expensive. Plus, while having a job lined up in the new city would be ideal, that doesn’t always happen, so there’s another thing that could possibly be stressful.

But sometimes, taking smaller steps, one at a time, could end up being what needs to be done in order to walk away and then walk towards something that does serve you, grow you, and makes you happy.

d4ef569313ec77ba936dab85901577ec

“You are not useless. You are not hopeless. And no matter how scared you are, you will never be alone. And deep down somewhere, in the part of you that decided the good days and your happiness and your health were all worth fighting for, you know that, too. Hold onto that knowledge. It will see you through the worst.”

Ella Ceron

This quote probably resonated the deepest and the most with me. I’ll leave here, with this wonderful quote. Have a wondrous day :)

Leave a Reply

