Questions and a Change

People are constantly trying to discover who they are, who they are meant to be, what kind of life they are destined to live.

I am definitely a part of that group.

Some days I have a good idea of what direction I’m going in, but most days (at least lately) I’m rethinking that direction or I come up with a possible other direction, or two, that I could possibly go down.

There are all these possible doors just waiting to be open or may even be open already, but I’m afraid to even just peek inside in the event that a current door that I’m walking through suddenly closes, for good.

In my Monday post, I said that I would talk and share about my other source(s) today. One of my best friends found this great article about the 8 Powerful Questions We Should Ask Ourselves Immediately from the website Elephant Journal.

These questions are simple in nature and I think they are questions that other people ask us throughout our lives in various settings. We forget that we don’t have to wait around for someone else to ask these questions.

1. Where do you want to be in five years?

Five years seems far away, yet just around the corner. I’ve been asked this question a        couple times in interviews and I think I’ve given roughly the same answer each time. However, the answer I gave, I only gave because I knew it would sound good to the interviewer. I actually had no idea if I really wanted to achieve those things or be in that particular place.

There are however a few things I know: I want to be moved out of CA and I want to have traveled to at least a couple of new places (hopefully outside of the U.S.). Other than that, I’m still waiting to discover a new answer.

2. How did I want to feel on the inside in five years time? Where would I be emotionally, physically, mentally?

I want to be able to say that I am healthy in aspect. I have a personal trainer now, so I have set that in motion already. Emotionally and mentally I think I am finally on the right track to figuring things out and getting to a place where I am at my best, where I’m at my most positive and healthy. It will take time and it might be hard, but then it might not be worth it in the end, right?

3. What bad habits do I need to stop?

Bad habits, well no one wants to openly admit all the time that they have bad habits or aren’t perfect, right? Well, I’m sure some have no problem with it. This may end being more of a thought exercise itself, but once I figure them out, I will work on them every day – again it’ll be a process, but a good one :)

4. What mistakes have I made today?

Oh man, like every human being on this planet, I have made mistakes. Some took a while to recognize and own up to, some I owned up to immediately. I hope that I tried to remedy every one though.

As some of you know who read my Monday post, I recently made a pretty bad mistake, but I took responsibility for it and made sure those affected knew that I was sorry and that I wanted a chance to fix it. This particular mistake helped to shed some light on other things in my life, which I’m grateful for.  

5. Who do I envy or admire? What qualities do these people have? In what way can I learn from them? What is it about them that inspires me?

There are probably so many people, this one is going to take time too, but it will be a fun journey to discover who those people are.

6. What stories have I told myself?

Stop deciding and telling myself that I don’t deserve something without trying it or giving it a chance, whatever it may be. Make decisions based on what I think will be most beneficial to my life and everything else will fit the way its supposed to be, or not, but that happens.

I need to learn that ultimately, I am the one person who knows what it is I want and what it is that I think will be the best for me.

7. Who do I love and who loves me?

There are so many people! More than I think I originally thought. There are a couple of people who surprise me from time to time and it is a wonderful feeling to feel that love and support from people. I hope that I give back just as much I receive. 

I hope that they all know how much I love them and how much I will be there for them when they need it :)

8. If no one judged me, who would I be?

I think this answer might change the most as I learn more and more about myself and what I answer to the other questions.

I need to stop worrying about what other people are going to think if I do this or that or not do something. If I’m doing something that makes me happy then that is all that matters. I don’t want to end up living a life just because that what’s society has deemed “acceptable”. 

There will always be someone that won’t agree with my decisions or my life or maybe simply not like me. Either way, I shouldn’t make it my problem, because in the end, it shouldn’t be.

These are questions that I hope to ask myself everyday or at least many, many times and I think the change I have made recently will also help me ask these questions or simply discover some of the answers.

I would love to hear some of your input if willing! Have a great Thursday! :)

Elephant Journal seems like a great site, here are a couple of other great articles that I found:

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/12/5-steps-how-to-really-make-our-lives-our-own/

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/02/how-to-rise-above-haters-sarvasmarana-ma-nithya/

Leave a Reply

