Book Review: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

Classic book #9 review and thoughts is here!

I received several books as gifts for Christmas, something that actually doesn’t happen very often – surprisingly – and one of them was The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway.

I really, really enjoyed reading this novel and I think one of the main reasons is because it’s a novel that I believe speaks to my generation or at least those that find themselves a little ‘lost’ in their twenties or those that have the major case of wanderlust.

Granted, the characters in the novel are in their early thirties, but they seem to feel just as lost as I do at times.

Plus who wouldn’t want to read about different grand adventures taking place in central Europe? The characters live in Paris, come from somewhere else and take off to Spain or the coast when they want – they’re feeding their wanderlust. They do so because they’re not sure what else they’re supposed to do. They wander, hoping to be found; or find whatever it is they are looking for, no matter if they know what that is or not.

The only thing I was unsure of was the ending. It felt a little abrupt, but at the same time, I could tell that were wasn’t much more to the story to be told. If it continued, the story would probably repeat itself, same characters, same parties, just different place and time.

While I was expecting a major ‘wow’ novel, it was still a very enjoyable read and I would recommend it!

I now want to look into other Hemingway novels ..

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

  1. I, too, really liked The Sun Also Rises. I get watch you mean when you say it captures the feeling of being “lost” in our generation. I liked the characters, and am particularly fond of Brett.

    Good review overall!

    Like

Leave a Reply

