Meal Prep Week 4

Happy Tuesday!

So, I’ve made a couple changes it my diet/meal prep plan. I have decided to cut out foods with added sugar – with a couple of exceptions, like dark chocolate in moderation. I know, you might be asking what’s the point, but I’m still cutting out a lot of added sugar – pretty much all processed foods! The inspiration came from a friend of mine (check out her awesome blog here!) completing the Whole30 program recently.

While doing the Whole30 program seems very beneficial, there are several foods I can’t not eat while working out and becoming a runner. Foods like quinoa, which is pretty close to being a superfood, any legumes – black beans are becoming a staple in my diet, and any soy products – edamame is also an important food for me. I understand that the Whole30 program is great for people trying to figure out what foods or food groups are problematic for them, but some of the things I know aren’t problematic for me and I don’t want to go 30 without them, haha :). The “food” that I know is problematic is sugar, the added kind. The only foods with added sugar that won’t be cut out completely is dark chocolate, 60% or more, and Truvia, BUT the dark chocolate will be eaten in moderation – a lot of moderation, and the Truvia I will be cutting back on with my tea, which is the only thing that I use Truvia for.

This all leads me to the second change, meal prepping my breakfasts for the week. I made delicious crustless quiches in addition to the spring quinoa salad I made for my lunches. Read on for the recipes! :)

Last year I was on Pinterest looking for some new and yummy recipes to try and I found this delicious quinoa salad with avocado, asparagus, and peas over at Two Peas & Their Pod. The original recipe has a dressing as well, but I loved the salad so much without the dressing that I didn’t add the dressing, but if you’re a major dressing person, click the link above! :)

Spring Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 small bunch asparagus, about 15 spears, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • Edamame (shelled)

The edamame is my addition since I need to add more protein to my diet; I think I might try adding chicken next time too …

Directions:

1. In a small bowl or medium jar, combine the dressing ingredients. Whisk to combine or shake with the jar lid on tight. Set aside.

2. Follow directions to cooke the quinoa (add water, quinoa, and salt to a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Boil for 5 minutes. Turn the heat to low and simmer for about 15 minutes, or until water is absorbed. Remove from heat and fluff with a fork.)

3. While the quinoa is cooking, cook the asparagus. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the asparagus and fresh lemon juice. Cook until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in the peas and cook for an additional 2 minutes. I added the edamame at the very end.

4. In a large bowl, combine quinoa, asparagus, peas, and avocado. Pour the dressing over the salad and stir until well coated. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

Not only is this salad delicious and good for you, but it also looks beautiful too! Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture (oops), but the Two Peas & Their Pod website has great pictures :)

Stay tuned for the crustless quiche recipe!

Leave a Reply

