Book Review: The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Before I begin – sorry I’ve been away for awhile, things have been busy, but I hope to create a schedule or something to guide my posts and writing :)

So I finished The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon about a week ago. It’s shorter than the other two books that I have of Zafon’s, but it was still worth the read. While the novel was maybe almost a hundred pages shorted than the other two, it certainly still read like a long novel that hooked from the first paragraph.

To be honest, I was hooked before I even began reading this novel because I already knew the two main characters – the same beloved and real ones from The Shadow of the Wind. Another reason this novel so easily kept me enraptured is that I was finally getting a bigger part of one of the characters – Fermín’s – backstory. Fermín would be that slightly eccentric uncle with a soft heart and crazy adventure stories that are told whenever the whole family is gathered.

Zafon cleverly and expertly weaves together not only great stories with just enough twists, turns, and upheavals, but creates realistic and relatable characters. His writing style makes me feel like I am standing right next to his characters as the story unfolds, something that I don’t always experience, but one that I am always grateful for when it does occur.

It is clear that the two books that I have read (and the third that I am currently reading) are novels that I would highly recommend to anyone. I look forward to sharing my experience for the third book of his that I’m reading, The Angel’s Game, before finally getting back to my classic novel list!

Leave a Reply

