Book Review: Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

I finished classic book number 10, Catch-22 by Joseph Heller this last weekend. And, to be honest, I’m not sure what I fully think about it.

I can definitely see how its regarded as a great novel, I just think I was unprepared for the way Heller wrote it and the order he did it in. It’s definitely an interesting look at how a soldier’s viewpoint on war and what’s going on around him changes, for better or for worse.

There were definitely some very ridiculous parts that I think threw me off – I wasn’t sure where they exactly fit within the bigger picture. But maybe that was one of the smaller points – that there are some things that happen in war or a similar ‘world’ that one almost doesn’t believe because it runs on the more ridiculous side or maybe they simply don’t believe it actually happens. I think war, combat, and similar situations is something that many don’t think about and when they do hear stories, they don’t want to believe or maybe think it has been exaggerated.

Overall, Catch-22 has been a thought-provoking novel. And I’m definitely glad that ‘bomb formations’ and ‘marches’ are not priorities today haha

Did you read Catch-22? What did you think? Let me know in the comment section! :)

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

  1. That’s a book that I know many people gave up on reading.I guess there are boring or tough parts in it.
    I have it on my shelves as well,but I don’t know if I’ll read it in the coming year,haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

