My No Shampoo Adventure: Week 2

This post is late, but this weekend was semi-busy. This post will be short as well.
(Also, I totally forgot to take pictures … oops).

Before I begin laying out what I did last week, I want to make clear again what no ‘poo means: it means no shampoo.
(I only reiterate this because a couple of unnecessary jokes were made – no harm done though.)

Moving along … if you remember from my week 1 post, I ended up doing the baking soda & water solution followed my the honey & water solution to ‘start over’ with a clean slate – which didn’t exactly pan out the way I imagined, but it still worked to help clarify my hair.

Day 1

So on Saturday, my ‘day 1’ for the second week, I cleaned my hair with the Honest Shampoo + Body Wash. I was again disoriented at first with using a shampoo that doesn’t lather and because of that, I felt like I had to use more than I usually do. The only thing is that I didn’t have a conditioner, so I used coconut oil – I took a two fingertip scoop out of the jar, warmed it in my hands, ran over the ends of my hair, and then rinsed. I’m still not sure if it is a good idea or if it works well. Hopefully I’ll be able to report back on that later.

For the most part, I felt like my hair was clean when I stepped out of the shower, but as it started to dry, the middle section of the back of my hair felt .. off. It didn’t feel quite dirty or greasy and not quite as waxy as before. It didn’t get worse, but it didn’t get better as the days went by.

The only thing I didn’t love about the Honest Shampoo was the smell. Don’t get me wrong, it smells good, but it essentially smells like a dreamiscle – the scent is Orange Vanilla. It isn’t my first choice of scent for my hair is all.

Days 2, 3, 4

I was able to go the next three days, Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday, without washing my hair, although I had to to definitely wear my hair up on the fifth day, Wednesday.

Day 5

Wednesday – hair wash day! I had to do the same thing as on Saturday. Again, couldn’t tell if the coconut oil was a good idea or not. I also got the weird feeling in the back of my hair, but it wasn’t worse (I plan on researching this.)

Days 6 & 7

No hair washing (just body). By this point, I decided that I needed to try something else for shampoo and conditioner. So, I headed over to Naturally Curly, and did some research and read some comments. I originally decided to get Ouidad Water Works Clarifying Shampoo, Jessicurl Gentle Lather Shampoo, and DevaCurl One Condition. However, I couldn’t find a local beauty supply store that carried the Jessicurl shampoo, so I decided on the SheaMoisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo instead. I found all three at an Ulta store.

Day 8

Saturday – hair wash day. I decided to try the Ouidad shampoo first so that I could essentially start with a clean slate. I followed with the DevaCurl conditioner. As far as I could tell, the shampoo cleaned my hair like it was supposed to. The conditioner seemed to worked really well, although the only thing is that since I don’t use conditioner on the top of my head to avoid unwanted greasiness at the scalp, I had a little frizziness, but still a huge improvement from before.

Tomorrow, Sunday, will be the start of my week 3, so we’ll see how this coming week goes. Hopefully well! And I promise I’ll post that yummy recipe soon :)

Have you been experimenting with something similar? Let me know in the comment section, I would love to know! :)


The background for my featured image linked to this Tech.co interview with Jessica Alba, co-founder of The Honest Company.

2 thoughts on “My No Shampoo Adventure: Week 2

  1. I made a solid 2 month attempt eith no shampoo with no luck. That weird felling in the back of my head of greasy/pastey never went away and I just couldnt stick I out any longer. I really wanted it to work for me because I loved the whole concept. Stay committed! I hope you have great results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

