Book Review: A Million Ways to Die in the West by Seth MacFarlane

A Million Ways to Die in the West was one of my recent impulse buys. I’ve been curious about this book, written by Family Guy creator Seth MacFarlane, ever since it came out. The curiosity surprised me considering that I have never (and probably never will) have any desire to watch his shows which has always led me to believe that I don’t have the same sense of humor as he does.

Unknown
I was even more surprised that I actually enjoyed reading this novel. I’m not saying that it was absolutely amazing, but it was very entertaining to say the least. The novel is
adapted from te screenplay for MacFarlane’s movie of the same name. The writing style is simple, always giving just enough description and dialogue, something I found a little refreshing. I thought the characters and events were the perfect amount of ridiculousness and hilarity with some reality thrown in.

I would only recommend this novel to those who handle/ like the humor style because otherwise it will come off as too ridiculous and most likely not be enjoyable. I am looking forward to watching the movie and see if I enjoy it as much as I enjoyed the novel.

Have you read this novel or seen the movie? Let me know your thoughts! :)

Happy Reading <3 Nicole


Picture of the novel I found through Google and links to the novel’s Amazon page.

Leave a Reply

