Book Review: Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan

Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan is exactly what you think it would be – a great – i.e. delicious – story full of sugar sweetness with a dash of spice! :)

I instantly fell in love with this book from the first few pages. I loved all the characters – well, except for a couple in particular – because they were relatable and felt real. I’m a huge baker myself, though not at close to Issy’s talent, which was one of the main reasons why I wanted to read this book. And, there are actual recipes throughout the book! How could I pass that up?!

Another reason why I wanted to read this book is because it’s a story about having a dream – eve517cdwoqYaL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_n one you don’t fully realize you have – and going for it and sticking with it even over all the bumps, big and small. It’s a relatable story about life and the curveballs
that get thrown in every once and a while. It’s a story about how there some people better left out of your life, even if it takes a little heartbreak and time to figure that out. It’s a story about making mistakes and learning from them. It’s a story about people and relationships and the love that connects them all – whether it’s romantic or platonic.

It’s a story that reminded me that life has its adventures, no matter what they look like, but they aren’t any fun or memorable if you don’t have the people you love in your life.

I know I didn’t give a whole lot on what the story is about, but I hope you can clearly tell that I absolutely love this book and recommend it to anyone – especially if you’re a baker! And I cannot wait to pick up another of Colgan’s novels!

Happy Reading <3 Nicole

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan

      • Just read another “baking” book – The Art of Baking Blind – very good, especially if you want to mix it up. (I’m really in to baking books can share lots of titles – Likely could do a Top 10 even!

        Like

      • Thank you so much for your new minted following of my blog! While I don’t really address/talk about books here – I have one that I may re: Thank you notes – but I’m a voracious reader – best ever 75 books in one year. (Yes I’m nerdy and track everyone – though accidently trashed my lists from 2000-2013 I’m still trying to recover from that – happy to recommend and/or perhaps provide a list for your use. (Maybe I could come up with a list re: appreciation, kindness etc… Hmmm.. creative juices are flowing.) Have a great holiday weekend!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

