Book Review: Crazy Little Thing by Tracy Brogan

I once again took a small detour from my classic reading list to read Crazy Little Thing by Tracy Brogan. It was one of the gifts I received from a coworker the other week. I started the novel knowing it was going to be a summer beach romance novels, although never have read many of them, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect.

crazylittlething-200x300While it kept me reading from the first page to the last, I’m not sure I can say that I loved it. I liked it, but didn’t love it. I think one of the biggest reasons was because the protagonist was a recently divorced mother of two in her early thirties – very different from myself or really anyone that I know personally. The protagonist was written well, but not so much that I felt she was relatable. However, I didn’t mind too much since I knew it was meant to be a light read.

I did love most of the supporting characters though, who gave me a good laugh from time to time. However, there were several points in the plot that I didn’t like because they felt too much like fluff or were too predictable. There was one plot point that just made me roll my eyes because the protagonist was written with thoughts making her out to be the ‘crazy, irrational’ girl around a crush she was having a date with. I understand that some act like this in reality, but for once, it would be nice to read about a female character being able to avoid this, at least once.

I was able to finish this book over one weekend, so if you’re looking for something easy to read that is mildly enjoyable in between books, I would suggest this book. If not, I don’t think you’ll be missing a ton.

Goodreads profile for the book here. Apparently it’s a part of a series.

Happy Reading! <3 Nicole

Don’t forget to check out my poll to the left (connecting post)! 

Leave a Reply

