Book Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Oh, how I was genuinely surprised at my classic read number 14, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

Like many, I have heard about this novella, but I wasn’t sure what it was supposed to be about. I started reading with almost no Littleprincepreconceptions about this book, something that I think was important for me. The only thing that I thought I knew about this book was that one of the main themes was focused on the great-but-always-out-of-reach meaning of life. I think The Little Prince, and Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, were far close to that meaning than anyone else I have come across so far (though I do recognize that each person may have a different meaning for their own individual lives).

I was surprised at how simple, yet complex it was. The themes of loneliness, friendship, love, and loss were profoundly present. As I was reading, I constantly felt like one of the adults the little prince kept talking about – like I was missing so much of the important things and caring too much about the small stuff. I fear I have started to become an adult who focuses on material things and aspects rather than on my feelings. I believe both are important, which goetumblr_inline_nj2gveJ0AO1t5e46ps to show that I won’t be reverting back to a child anytime soon. Because both important, finding that balance is just as important. As the Little Prince stated, what is essential is invisible to the eye. Things that can be touched or seen are always great, but they don’t always last. It is usually the memory, the way you remember feeling, that lasts. And those are the most beautiful experiences one can have. That is something that was easily portrayed in this book and I am grateful to have felt the magic of it.

It certainly made me sad to recognize that I’ve been focusing too much on more unimportant things. Yet, I think feeling and recognizing that was important, otherwise, how would I learn or even grow? Because I wasn’t always an adult, trying to be a grown-up. I was once a child, carefree and happy. Why does that change? Why do we forget? But at the same time, I sometimes find it hard to remember why it’s so important to remember our childhoods and the attached feelings. How do I find that balance? That wisdom was unfortunately not given in this book.

images

I hope you can tell how much I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I wish I knew years ago that it is a book I believe that anyone should read at least once – and maybe even own! Which, unfortunately, I do not, but I think I am determined to buy a copy soon – a very well illustrated one – and add it to my collection.

I am now tempted to go and discover some of his other books, ones I didn’t even know he wrote. Have you read The Little Prince or any of Antoine’s other works?

Happy Wednesday and Happy Reading!

<3 Nicole


All images I found through Google.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Leave a Reply

