Book Review: Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Hello readers! I am finally getting around to doing this review.

I finally finished my classic read number fifteen, Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. I would not be surprised if every other person but me read this while in high school or maybe even after. The summary told me I would be sucked into a great sea adventure filled with pirates, treasure, and battle. I was not disappointed.

Reading from Jim Hawkins’ point of view was a nice change of pace – though the older writing style wasn’t – and keep things on a more simpler side, but still giving me all the good stuff. I forgot how much fun it is to read an adventure story that’s just that – an adventure.

51Oc4JylHFL._SX294_BO1,204,203,200_I can’t imagine being in Jim’s shoes and do what he did – he’s a smart and brave protagonist.

What I didn’t know was that the name Long John Silver came from this story and that he’s the villain. The name didn’t really strike me as villainous, but I guess it’s the behavior that counts more.

It’s definitely a story that inspired many pirate images and other stories – I will admit that I kept thinking of images from Pirates of Caribbean, though Barbossa seemed more ruthless than Long John Silver, but then Silver seemed more a selfish character. He did what he had to do to ensure his own safety, with the pretense of including the other pirates into his plans, which he I don’t think he really did.

I also thought the image of the monkey in Pirates was creepier while the parrot just seemed annoying (if he were real).

There is one character, Ben, that made an appearance quickly and disappeared just as quickly, until showing up at the end. I thought he was going to be of greater importance to the middle of the part of the story, but I guess it ended up being a more behind the scenes role, the reader not learning what he did until he showed up at the end.

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this story and am glad I put in on my classic list. I don’t know if I would ever read it again, but I would definitely recommend it, no matter the gender or age.

I would love to hear other’s thoughts on this read too!

Happy Reading <3 Nicole


The picture of the cover is the edition I checked out of the library. I got the image from Google.

Leave a Reply

