Top Ten Tuesday: If You Liked That, Try This

This weekly meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is all about what books one might enjoy if you’ve read another book in particular. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to come up with ten, but definitely check out other lists! I’ve already read a few and people have come up with great suggestions! I decided to give recommendations based on books that I’ve read and enjoyed; I looked at Goodreads and Amazon for help too. (Some of the recommendations I have not read myself.)

If you enjoyed The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion, check out Something Missing by Matthew Dicks

I just finished reading The Rosie Project (review to come) and wanted to see if there were similar novels out there. I have already placed this book on my Amazon wish list. It sound like another unique voice and story and I look forward to reading it!

If you enjoyed Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson, try The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

While the main characters are different in age, they both decide to go on unexpected journeys and learn that they are braver and smarter than they give themselves credit for. Both are excellent adventures stories.

If you enjoyed Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, try The Circle by Dave Eggers

I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed Ready Player One and I cannot wait to read his newest novel. I was walking through Powell’s in Portland a few months ago and came upon The Circle. I just came across it again and it sounds like a similar read, where technology plays a huge part in our life, maybe too much of a role.

If you enjoyed Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan, try Pack Up the Moon by Sarah McPartlin

Pack up the moon has been on my TBR for awhile. I see similarities in both of these characters that suddenly find themselves on a new path, through no fault of their own, and are trying to find the courage to take chances and live this new life. All while not knowing what the future holds.

If you enjoyed Girls in White Dresses, try The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway

Again, I saw similarities between the plot and characters. Both showcase characters that are just going through the motions and different events that life decides to throw in. Characters in both are unsure of themselves and what step they should take next. Either way, I would recommend Hemingway’s novel anyway :)

So, those are the ones I could come up with. Maybe in the near future I can add to this list :)

Happy Tuesday and Readings! <3 Nicole

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: If You Liked That, Try This

  1. As always an enjoyable post. I have a tip to add to help others find – if you liked” books. NOVElist a database that’s at my library and others I’ve visited is made for this kind of matching. Definitely worth a visit and it’s free w/ a library card. (At least it is at those I’ve used it at. Found many food related books. :) )

    Like

  2. Great list!!

    Lots of your first books (girls in white dresses for example) are on my tbr so niw I’ve got lots more to read if I like them!

    Also, What a great idea to do a separate one for each I just picked one and did all the books just for that. I love these lists always so different!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s