Book Review: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Once again, I took a detour from my classics list. I’ve done a couple book hauls in the last couple months and have a pile of books just waiting to be read. My willpower and patience is wearing thin haha.

I initially picked up The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion because of the bright cover – it drew me in. Before deciding to buy a book, I usually read the summary and then I read the first couple pages, to see if it hooks me. With this book, however, I simply read the summary and a couple of the reviews and decided on a kind-of whim to buy it.

I’m glad I did.

The Rosie Project was a breath of fresh air romance story. It had just the right amount of comedy too. The main character, Don 51Y0eAmT1xL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Tillman, reminds me of Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory in many ways. He’s eccentric, but charming. The story arcs for all the characters were well written and believable.

I thought I would have a hard time connecting with the characters considering they’re at least a decade older than me, but for the most part, I didn’t have trouble.

The only thing that I thought was hard to wrap my around is of Rosie getting mad at some things that Don does or says after she gets to know him. Once I, the reader, got a good handle on Don and how he thinks, I would like to think that I wouldn’t have reacted the way Rosie did. It’s clear that Don doesn’t see the same social cues as many of the rest of us do. Considering that, I don’t think it fair to hold him accountable in the same way as others. But, I guess that’s what created the drama and different obstacles for Don and the other characters.

I would definitely recommend this story.

While on vacation this last weekend, I finished my other ‘detour’ book, so stay tuned for that review :)

Happy Reading <3 Nicole

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

  1. I don’t usually read a lot of books that aren’t YA, but this one has been on my list for a long time now. I’m really glad you liked it, and your review definitely made me want to move this one up higher on my TBR list!

    Like

  2. The Rosie Project is such a sweet heart warming book. I fell in love with it because how can you not!? It’s adorable. Thank you so much for writing a really amazing review and such an amazing blog! Are you going to read the sequel the Rosie effect? (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

