Book Review: Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Another detour book! I am pretty sure I will find myself with all of Jenny Colgan’s books on my bookshelves sooner or later. The titles alone are almost enough for me, they just promise deliciousness! I’m a baker myself, so I love that a main aspect found in her books is baking, something that her main characters tend to love as well.

51oQI6M1VVL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_Little Beach Street Bakery is very much one of those sweet and cute reads, but with just enough drama and humor. I’ve only read one of her other books, Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe, but just between these two novels, a strong theme is of having to essentially start over, to find yourself or re-find yourself, and learning just how strong you can be. These themes is another reason why I was attracted to her books; they’re themes that I believe are always relevant – they certainly are in my life right now.

Even though we’re currently heading into Fall (at least in the US, though California’s weather is showing otherwise), I would still recommend this read. It could just be another way to make you feel warm and fuzzy :)


Goodreads description: Polly Waterford is recovering from a toxic relationship. Unable to afford their flat, she has to move miles away from everyone, to a sleepy little seaside resort in Cornwall, where she lives alone above an abandoned shop. And so Polly takes out her frustrations on her favourite hobby: making bread.

But what was previously a weekend diversion suddenly becomes far more important as she pours her emotions into kneading and pounding the dough, and each loaf becomes better and better. With nuts and seeds, olives and chorizo, with local honey (courtesy of local bee keeper, Huckle), and with reserves of determination and creativity Polly never knew she had, she bakes and bakes and bakes…. And people start to hear about it. Sometimes, bread really is life … and Polly is about to reclaim hers.

I hope you think about taking a chance and diving into this deliciousness! :)

Happy Reading!

blog signature


Book cover picture is from the Amazon page.

Leave a Reply

