The Friday 56: The First Bad Man

Happy Friday!

I’ve been looking for another weekly meme to try out and I’ve seen this one around on a couple other blogs, so I figured why not? The Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice.

Rules:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReaderย (If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
  • Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
  • Post it.
  • Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.
  • It’s that simple.

21412400

While I just finished Alice in Wonderland yesterday, I actually started this book a couple weeks ago while on vacation, but put it aside to finally start and finish Alice. The First Bad Man by Miranda July came up somewhere on Goodreads. I remember thinking it was intriguing and my curiosity was struck. I entered the Goodreads giveaway for it (didn’t win) and just kept it in my TBR list. Until, I was looking for a book for my plane ride back home from Vancouver, BC and saw it – just sitting on the top shelf, its black cover with simple white lettering, almost as if it was saying,ย you finally see me, now buy me, so I did.

I realized, a little too late, that I actually haven’t gotten to page 56 yet, but I decided to take the risk, I was only 15 pages away anyway. I quickly scanned the sentences and found the following which popped out at me and felt like a quick taste of the book (from what I can tell so far):

“Once read, the image was impossible to to keep at bay – the tight jean crotch, his stubby, furry hands rubbing wildly. In the living room I could hear Clee crunching ice like cud. The chewing was so loud I began to wonder if she wasn’t doing it sarcastically, to aggravate me.”

So – interesting to say the least I think. If you want to know more, here is the Goodreads page.

Happy Reading!

blog signature

3 thoughts on “The Friday 56: The First Bad Man

Leave a Reply

