Top Ten Tuesday: The Creepy, the Scary, & the Thrilling

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is a Halloween freebie! I’m usually not a a big fan of halloween, at least now as an adult (I have no idea why really), though of course I love the chocolate and candy part :) Because of this, I was a little hesitant about whether I would even be able to think of something for this week’s Top Ten. After reading through some other people’s ideas, I figured it can’t be that hard and so I figured I would list ten books that fit within the creepy, the scary or the thrilling; books to help you get into a more Halloween mood (hopefully)!

Dracula by Bram Stoker

How could I not include this?? I’ve read this book at least twice, maybe three times, and I always enjoy it. It doesn’t scare or creep me out, but this is the original vampire, one who isn’t glorified or pretty or romantic, which is something that I love because Dracula is a vampire that you’re supposed to be scared of.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Again, this is a novel that I believe has to be on this list. This is another that I’ve a couple times at least. One of the things that I like about this novel is the scary factor isn’t what you think at first. It’s a different scary factor and she did it well considering I see it being it relevant today.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Definitely fits into the creepy category. I throughly enjoyed reading this book several years ago, but I haven’t had the courage to watch the movie yet.

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Creepy and thrilling all rolled into one plus mind bending in some ways. Just the idea of this being a reality is enough for me to be at least slightly scared/ creeped out.

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

I absolutely loved this book. This fits more into the thrilling category I think, but it’s almost a continuation of Dracula – sort of – but it again kept the scary and creepy Dracula image. If you haven’t read this one, I highly recommend it!

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

So, I’m not sure this books really qualifies, but I really enjoyed this book. It’s a vampire story, really well written, and it again doesn’t make the vampires in this story romantic or pretty in any way. The Big Bad Vampire in this story is kept vague, but enough detail is given where he sounds scary and someone not to really mess with.

Robopocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson

Even thinking this book could become a remote possibility scares the crap out of me.

Angels & Demons by Dan Brown

I remember being on the edge of my seat a few times for this book, but I could also be grasping at straws here.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

So, technically I’m still reading this one, but from what I’ve read so far, if any part of this becomes reality, well that’s enough to scare the crap out me. (In place of this you could potentially put any of the classic dystopian novels, because those futures are at least a little scary if possible).

Stephen King

Okay, so this is a cop out, because I can’t remember if I ever actually read anything by him, but I do know that there are plenty of books that fit any of the three categories. I liked the movie The Shining and I’ve been tempted before to read the novel, so who knows. I’ve read his Doctor Sleep fits nicely into the scary category.

Any similar books you would add? Have you read any Stephen King, because I would love suggestions!

Happy Halloween and Happy Reading!

blog signature

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: The Creepy, the Scary, & the Thrilling

    • I was afraid of that, but I read it at least five years ago, so I may have remembered wrong. House of Leaves is quite the experience for a reader! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  1. Dracula is on my list too! And I loooved The Shining, it’s excellent! I haven’t decided on whether I should read Doctor Sleep, though, a lot of people have been saying it wasn’t that good… My TTT.

    Like

  2. If Stephen King is a cop, out I copped out three times on my list of scariest books – http://www.mikaylasbookshelf.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/top-ten-tuesday-halloween-special.html

    I haven’t read the book The Road, but I saw the movie and I’m the exact opposite of you, now I don’t want to read the book! It’s not traditional scary, but very, very unsettling. I’m not sure I want to go through it a second time…

    Like

Leave a Reply

