2015 End of Year Book Survey

I’ve seen several posts about this survey and went on the hunt because I wanted to participate as well! Yesterday I did a general blog report and so it seemed fitting to do something just for all the wonderful books I’ve read! So thank you to Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner for starting this!

I probably won’t be able to get all the questions, but it’ll be fun anyways :)

Number Of Books You Read: 31
Number of Re-Reads: 5-7 (totally guessing)
Genre You Read The Most From: General Fiction

Best Book You Read In 2015?

I think I would have to go with One Hundred Years in Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Pack Up the Moon by Ann McPartlin

Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess, mostly I was surprised at just how vivid the violent images were.

Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?

Unfortunately, these will mostly likely be more relevant in 2016

Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

Jenny Colgan

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I would have to say A Clockwork Orange again – I don’t think I would have picked it up if I didn’t put in on my classics list.

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Highly possible it will be Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

Meet Me At the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan

Most memorable character of 2015?

Don Tillman from The Rosie Project

Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

A Tie: The Angel’s Game or The Little Prince

Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?

The Little Prince for sure

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

There are really one too many. It’s true! Since I mostly read classic books, they are ones that I wish I had the chance to read earlier.

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

This is hard … I have to give three, I know it’s cheating, but these are too good!:

The Little Prince: “And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

One Hundred Years in Solitude: “There is always something left to love.”

Alice in Wonderland: “I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.”

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?

Shortest: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry – 98 pages

Longest: The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón – 531 pages

Book That Shocked You The Most

I think I’m going to have to go with the two books whose endings shocked me or maybe it would be more confused …

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton and A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

There wasn’t a lot of romance in any of the books I read this year, but I love Mercy Thompson and Warren or her with Zee from Night Broke or really any of the Mercy Thompson books by Patricia Briggs. Great characters!

Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Definitely Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I had seen this book and other of Rowell’s all over the place and people just love her, so I had to check her out.

Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Crazy Little Thing by Tracy Brogan

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

Oh man, cried more than once during Pack Up the Moon by Anna McPartlin

Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?

I’m going to have to give this to Jessie Burton’s The Miniaturist

Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

I think Iris Johansen’s The Perfect Witness simply because it wasn’t what I wanted it to be (a little unfair maybe?)

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Can I give three? I’m going to give three. The first two are not book related, but are still awesome. The third is a book related blog that I absolutely love!

Single Strides

Little Misadventures

Socially Awkward Bookworm

Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

The Rosie Project by Graeme Stinsion

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Any of my Running Chronicles posts, the most recent is Morning Runs & Eating.

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Definitely always have a lot of fun doing Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

I think it would have to be entering the blogging world, especially the book one, more than I had been in the first half of the year, which started with me going in Top Ten Tuesday. I received a lot of readers and amazing new blogs to follow!

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

It has definitely been a challenge to keep with my classic novel list that I started last year. I follow a lot of great book blogs and I consciously get jealous that they left themselves flexible in what they read and review. I can’t wait to finish my next two books and dive into my huge TBR list!!

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

By Views its Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’ve Read the Most

By Comments its Top Ten Tuesday: My Fall TBR

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

My Dream post.

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

The two sites: Blogging for books and Netgalley. How did I not know about these before?!

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Unfortunately, no. I really wanted to finish my classics list. Hopefully within the next two months though!

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

There’s two: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and The First Bad Man by Miranda July.

Anna Karenina is the last of classics and I started July’s book, but stopped to focus on my classics list.

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Finish my classics list (finally!). And also, become more active in not only the overall blogging community, but the book community, especially doing honest reviews where they send me a book (because how awesome is that?!)

This became a longer post than I expected, but I’m really glad that I did it! I hope I can answer all the questions next year and have read more books. I seriously thought I read a lot more books in 2015 than I actually did.

I hope to do a general resolutions/ goals post tomorrow (fingers crossed!)

Have a safe New Years! Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “2015 End of Year Book Survey

  1. Thanks for this list. I have to count but I may have hit 70 books read this year. I hope it’s more..but I haven’t really thought about some of these questions before! Happy New Year! I look forward to more of your posts. My fellow voracious reader.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read a lot of the books you mentioned, so I definitely plan to go look some of these up! I am always looking for new books, of course! :)
    So glad that you love my blog! I enjoy reading yours as well!
    I can’t wait to get my hands on This Is Where It Ends. It sounds so interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

