Top Ten Tuesday: Non-Fiction Books I Really Want to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! This week’s theme is a freebie, which means I can choose whichever topic I want. There were a couple topics I had in mind to write this post about, but decided to choose the top ten non-fiction books that I really want to read. It was actually hard to just choose ten (so I have honorable mentions haha).

A few of these are on my TBR list and a few are on my A to Z challenge, so I’m hoping I get to read a good number of these non-fiction books this year.

Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse: One Twentysomething’s (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood by Alida Nugent

I actually got this book for Christmas last year (2015) and it’s on my A to Z Challenge. I can’t wait to read it!

16171220

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are by Brené Brown

This is a book I got for Christmas 2014. I started reading it, but then of course got distracted by fiction books. I hope to get back to it this year though.

The_Gifts_of_Imperfection_Book_-_Brene_Brown_-_Front_Cover__28813_zoom

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg

I’ve wanted this book since I read about Aziz writing it especially since it came out around a time I was thinking about this concept.

81IWfWiI1vL

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo

I actually saw this in Powell’s around the time it first came out and took a picture of it to remember to put it on my TBR list. I forgot to do so, but since it started to rise on the bestseller list, I remembered again and made sure to put it on my list.

51H8x07Fd7L._SX351_BO1,204,203,200_

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Vintage International) by Haruki Murakami 

Once I started to get slightly serious as a runner, I found a lot of different books related. What captured my attention about this is that it’s a memoir that combines two of his passions: writing and running. I look forward to when I get to read it.

images

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

I thought about doing a reading challenge to read a bunch of celebrity non-fiction books and while thinking of doing that, I came across Mindy Kaling’s books and became intrigued with this one.

51jwxlk8knL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Same thing with Mindy Kaling’s book. Plus I love Amy Poehler.

51JeCzV8CoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World by Eric Weiner

I went through a period about trying to figure out what makes me happy and what doesn’t. I can’t remember how I found this book, but I did so through Amazon. It sounds honest and funny.

41lmjrycH+L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Rising Strong by Brené Brown

I didn’t realize I had two of her books on my list.

From blurb: When we deny our stories, they define us.
When we own our stories, we get to write the ending.

51K5xunS2RL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

The Shallows: What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains by Nicholas Carr

Another period I went through was thinking about the actual impact the internet and technology has on us. The first books I put on my Amazon wish list were all books similar to this one. The internet and technology are huge parts of our lives now, but I don’t think many people really stop and think about what the effects are. I was a sociology major and I think it would be interesting to read more about this.

51NFAGBdWDL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Honorable Mentions:

I decided to put these as honorable mentions since they aren’t really ‘reading’ books :)

The Runner’s World Cookbook: 150 Ultimate Recipes for Fueling Up and Slimming Down–While Enjoying Every Bite

It’s obvious I’m a runner. I also like to eat good food. I also have been trying to cook more. I really like Runner’s World and when I saw this, I couldn’t resist to put it on my TBR list.

51PIvy4pGsL._SX409_BO1,204,203,200_

Star Wars Storyboards: The Original Trilogy & Star Wars Storyboards: The Prequel Trilogy

I saw these in the bookstore a couple years ago and have wanted them ever since!

61D-pud2o5L._SX380_BO1,204,203,200_ 616nxqGh8wL._SX381_BO1,204,203,200_

So, there are my top ten and honorable mentions of non-fiction books that are on TBR list and ones that I really want to read. Any of these sound interesting? Has anyone read any of these?

Happy Reading!

blog signature

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Non-Fiction Books I Really Want to Read

  1. I loved this list!! It’s something I may even make a post about myself – even if it’s not for top ten tuesday! :P I’ve actually bookmarked this page so I have recommendations to go through properly later – these books all sound great!

    Like

  2. A few of those titles are on my TBR list too. I really want to get into reading more nonfiction than usual (more than 0 or 1 seems like progress to me), and I’m glad to see I’m not the only one! :)

    Like

    • I’m really glad to hear that! I was a little hesitant about Yes Please because I’ve read mixed reviews. Maybe I’ll have to put Mindy Kaling’s other book on my list too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

