Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Yay! A baking post! I intend to post about my different baking adventures, an actual blogging goal of mine for 2016, and here we are: my first baking post of 2016!

I’ve actually been wanting to bake for the last several weekends, but something was always coming up, leaving no time for baking. At least where I wouldn’t be rushing. Baking is one of the many ways I use to relax. Plus, I get a treat during and after! :)

One of the main reasons why I really wanted to bake, more so than usual, was so that I could whip out my new KitchenAid mixer!

IMG_2150

Isn’t it beautiful??

Best Christmas present ever. Well, books are up there too of course.

When I finally figured out that I would have at least half the day this last Sunday to commit to baking, I instantly started thinking of what I wanted to bake. It was a no-brainer to do a cookie; fun fact: I’m a HUGE cookie monster. I love to bake them and I love to eat them!

What I ended up being stuck between was either my popular Snickerdoodles or a chocolate chip cookie. The only problem was that I still didn’t have a favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe, which I think ended up being part of the reason why I chose to bake a chocolate chip cookie. After too long of scouring Pinterest and Google searches, I finally settled on a classic soft & chewy recipe from Betty Crocker.

You can’t go wrong with any of the classics.

(This recipe belongs to Betty Crocker. Original posted here.)

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cups butter or margarine, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 eggs
4 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 to 2 bags (12 oz each) semisweet chocolate chips (2 to 4 cups) I actually mixed semisweet and milk chocolate chips together, but you can do whatever your little baker heart desires!

Directions:

  • Heat oven to 375°F.
  • In large bowl with electric mixer, beat granulated sugar, brown sugar and butter until light and fluffy.
  • Beat in vanilla and eggs until well blended.
  • Beat in flour, baking soda and salt.
  • Stir in chocolate chips.

IMG_2151

  • On ungreased cookie sheets, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart.

IMG_2152

  • Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute; remove from cookie sheets to cooling racks.

IMG_2153

Yes, it is that simple! Don’t they look delicious? Because they were! They melted perfectly in my mouth, when I may have swiped one or three of the first batch right out of the oven. No guilt whatsoever :)

So, what are you waiting for?? Go bake some delicious classic chocolate chip cookies! Sharing is not required ;)

IMG_2156

P.S. Look out for another dating related post, apparently it’s a theme with me right now

Happy Baking!

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

One thought on “Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

