Running Chronicles: Surf City Half Marathon 2016

If you’ve been reading some of my last few posts, then you know that I did my third half marathon yesterday, 7 Feb 2016.

And let me tell you, I was really happy to cross that finish line! Mostly because I was really exhausted and my muscles were starting to cramp. I was also happy because it meant that I finished the Beach Cities challenge and was done with half marathons; for now at least. Right now I want to focus on getting back to running because I want to, not because I have to train.

If you remember from my Top Ten Tuesday Goals and Resolutions post, I had a particular time goal. Since I didn’t train very well for this race, I expected that I would want to walk at some points during the race, so I set a time of 2:40 to finish.

Happily, I finished before that at 2:35, better than my last race by three minutes, but worse than my first half by five minutes.

I was disappointed that I didn’t get at least 2:30; that I didn’t PR. It sucked because the last three miles or so, based off the time of my FitBit, I thought without a doubt that I was going to PR by a couple minutes.

Honestly, I should have listened to my body and observed what it was doing and how it was feeling rather than look at the time. During the last several mile stretch, my body was hurting. And the fact that the last five miles or so are on a long stretch of straight road that never seems to end, didn’t help either.

But at the end of the day, what matters is that I set this goal for myself and I achieved it.

And I got these awesome medals haha:

IMG_2172IMG_2173

The above is the normal medal you get for finishing the half marathon. My mom and I picked a good year to run this one because they made the medal bigger for their 20th anniversary. And yes the surfboard spins!

IMG_2170IMG_2171

And this beautiful medal is for finishing the Beach Cities Challenge. I think this may have been one of the biggest motivators I had when running the actual race.

Yes, I’ve come to the conclusion that getting a medal at the end of a race is one of the big motivators. Not the only one, butย definitelyย one of them.

Happy Running!

Look out for my next running chronicles post where I calendar out 2016’s races :)

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Running Chronicles: Surf City Half Marathon 2016

Leave a Reply

