Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Love(ish) Quotes I Like

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Happy Tuesday! This week’s theme is a Valentine’s Day inspired freebie. My first thought was to go the ‘books to read when you’re single’ route to show that being single is perfectly fine on Valentine’s Day – I mean it’s just a day that has been overly commercialized by certain industries so that they can make more money, right? ANYWAYS, I instead decided to go with the top ten quotes of love that I really like from books I’ve read.

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.” – Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

I like this quote because I think there is some truth in it because when you shoot for some sort of happily ever after or just ever after, it isn’t guaranteed that you’ll make it there. It’s a little reminder about the faith you have to have in a relationship. 

“Isabella, you miss the essence of a boy. That’s all.” – Girls in White Dresses, Jennifer Close

I simply like this one because I think I find myself in this situation a lot. Where I simply miss the essence or ‘him’ being someone I can talk to when I need it. Not necessarily a particular person. Though, sometimes, that is the case.

“I’ve always loved you, and when you love someone, you love the whole person, just as he or she is, and not as you would like them to be.” – Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

Over and over we hear that you when you love someone, you love them for who they are. They are never a project or someone to improve.

“No relationship is perfect, ever. There are always some ways you have to bend, to compromise, to give something up in order to gain something greater…The love we have for each other is bigger than these small differences. And that’s the key. It’s like a big pie chart, and the love in a relationship has to be the biggest piece. Love can make up for a lot.” – This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen

Nothing is ever perfect, same with relationships. They don’t just fall into place perfectly, no work needed. The work is what makes it worth it, I think.

“If you look for perfection, you’ll never be content.” – Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy

Hardly think this one needs to be explained.

“I am coming to terms with the fact that loving someone requires a leap of faith, and that a soft landing is never guaranteed.” – This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen

It’s all about faith and trust. Sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn’t. But you’ll never know if you don’t take the leap every once in awhile.

“This is a good sign, having a broken heart. It means we have tried for something.” – Eat, Pray, Love, Elizabeth Gilbert

This sounded weird to me at first too, but the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. You learn how to get up and be stronger when something makes you fall. A broken heart can be one of those things, but you don’t let it keep you down. You get up and let it be a reminder that you tried, it didn’t work out, but it shouldn’t be the end of the world. Because one day, it will work out.

“I asked you here tonight because when you realise you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.” – The Rosie Project, Graeme Simsion

Just perfect. Reminds me a little of one of my favorite movies ‘When Harry Met Sally’ too. 

“There comes a time when the world gets quiet and the only thing left is your own heart. So you’d better learn the sound of it. Otherwise you’ll never understand what it’s saying.” – Just Listen, Sarah Dessen

I love this. You’ll never know what you want or what your heart wants if you don’t stop to listen and observe. You kind of have to know yourself before you can let yourself be wrapped up in another person to learn to know them, I think.

“You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” – Pride & Prejudice, Jane Austen

Simple and classic. I hope I don’t have to explain this one :)

So, in the spirit of Valentine’s Day, there are ten quotes about love that I really like. And that maybe made me swoon. Just a little.

Agree? Disagree? Additions? Let me know!

Happy Reading!

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

 

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Love(ish) Quotes I Like

  1. “Isabella, you miss the essence of a boy. That’s all.” This quote reminds me of a friend so much right now. There’s no proper way to tell someone that, though. So maybe I’ll just get her the book and hope the quote speaks to her.

    And “I’ve always loved you, and when you love someone, you love the whole person, just as he or she is, and not as you would like them to be.” Well… this is just perfect. Exactly my definition of love, really.

    Like

    • I liked the book, though I will warn it isn’t super amazing, but it really spoke to me as someone in her twenties and kind of going through the same thing as the main girls.
      Yes, that quote is perfect to illustrate love and relationship!

      Like

  2. Ooh, I like your take on this week’s theme. I really like the pie chart one, and the one from The Rosie Project reminds me of why my husband and I had a seven week engagement–once we made the decision, it seemed ridiculous to wait just so the party would be fancy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

