My Bumble Dating App Experience

I warned you that another dating related post was headed your way. If you read my first If We Were On a Coffee Date post, you would remember me briefly talking about how I impulsively downloaded this app.

I downloaded and signed up with the Bumble app roughly a week ago. I deleted my account and the app last night.

But why? You were only on it for a week!

I know a week is not that long, but let me tell my experience from day one.

After impulsively downloading the app, I got my profile set up; the app takes your basic info and profile pictures from Facebook. Once that is done, it was no surprise that the swiping started.

I mean, the app was created by one of Tinder’s co-founder, so the swipe was almost a given. One of the first things I noticed was that all the guys were very attractive and looked like they had all of their sh*t together.

Similar to Tinder, however, is that the swiping can get addictive and almost turn into a game. I suddenly found myself with seven matches and the reminder that I was the one that had to start a conversation within 24 hours of the match being made. Talk about pressure. And because of that, I took my time looking over profiles and figuring out what to say.

I sent five messages and not one guy responded.

By the beginning of the fourth day, I did a little research and found out that it’s all about sending a message as quick as you can. So, that’s what I did for the next three matches; I sent a message within the first two hours. Which apparently was not fast enough, because I only had one guy respond and it was clear very quickly that it wasn’t going to be a great conversation. By this point I was frustrated, but I also totally understood, because how many messages would I not respond to when I was on OkCupid way back when?

On top of that, all the guys started looking alike: clean cut, muscle, and in a business suit. Oh, and almost every single one had a dog. I don’t know why, but I thought that was very interesting.

By the middle of the fourth day, I was only seeing possible matches from LA, between 25-35 miles away from me. It didn’t take me long to delete the app, knowing that I wasn’t going to get what I wanted from it.

I did like that it gave some of the power to me, especially when it came to how many messages/ conversations I would have to follow. I also didn’t have to worry about constantly getting messages, most that I wouldn’t respond to.

What I didn’t like was simply my personal experience with the app. I think it’s a good idea, though the swiping is a feature that I wish wasn’t a core aspect.

Ultimately, I didn’t want to put the effort into it. I may use it again in the future, but who knows what new dating thing will be out there by then.

Have you used Bumble? A different dating app? What’s your experience?

Here are some articles that I liked regarding the app:
From a male perspective, read this Verily Mag article.
A positive female perspective, in this EliteDaily article.
A slightly more negative perspective in the article ‘Women Lost When Men Bumble’.
And this perspective in a XOJane article where the female ‘felt more depressed than empowered’.

Happy Babbling!

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

8 thoughts on “My Bumble Dating App Experience

  1. I signed up to Tinder a while ago and it lasted about two weeks. Long story short, all the guys on there looked like the outdoorsy type which is not my thing at all. Where were all the bookish nerdy looking guys that I might have something in common with? Apparently they were smarter than me and didn’t bother with app dating. And I got really irritated when I got a match, sent a message and he never responded. Why bother liking someone’s profile if you’re not even going to respond to them? Such a waste of time and I’m the same as you – I just didn’t really want to put in the effort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

