Running Chronicles: Brea 8K

The running chronicles is a post where I talk about any races that I complete and anything else running related.

Yesterday, 28 February 2016, I ran in the Brea 8K. This is the second year in a row, but third time overall running it. My first time was way back in my freshman year of high school. I am avoiding calculating just how many years ago it actually was.

Anyways …

I woke up Sunday morning not wanting to run. At all. For some reason, I woke up Saturday feeling like I didn’t get enough sleep, even though I know I did, which followed me to the next morning. 

But I pushed through, reminding myself that it’s just an easy five miles, I’ll be done within the hour. Well, maybe not so easy. I did not learn from last year. I took the beginning incline a little hard again and by the time I recovered I was at the second incline, nicknamed heart rate hill. I probably took that one a little hard too, but I can’t help it. It’s not in my muscle memory to go slow up hills.

However, I think I took the last down hill a lot better than last year and go into a good pace and rhythm for the flat stretch leading to the finish line. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the same kind of energy for the usual long sprint to the finish, I had to start a lot closer to the finish than I did last year.

I hope that if I do this race again next year, I’ll learn and do better.

But I am very excited to share that I PR’d!! Last year I finished at 50:03 and this year I finished at 49:53! 10 seconds!! It may not seem like a lot, but to me it is. So here’s to PR’ing again next year if I race it :)

I placed about halfway out of everyone at 1,121st place out of 2,648. I placed 429th place out of 1,463 females. In my age group 19-24 of females, I placed 31st out of 90.

Next race is the Hot Chocolate 15K San Diego on March 20!

Happy Running!

XO Nicole

One thought on “Running Chronicles: Brea 8K

Leave a Reply

