Running Chronicles: The Hot Chocolate 15K San Diego, CA

The running chronicles is a post where I talk about any races that I complete and anything else running related.

I finally got to run America’s Sweetest Race this last weekend, the Hot Chocolate Run, in beautiful San Diego, CA.

I’ll be honest right now: I ran for the chocolate. And the medal.

But man, does my body hate me right now! Which is totally my fault, considering I didn’t run at all the last two weeks since my last race. Plus, I didn’t get any workouts in besides extensive walking while I was in New Orleans last week.

A lot of things were not in my favor for this race. I didn’t sleep well. My body was not prepared. My mind wasn’t really either. The course was a lot harder than I originally thought – the hills!! And my stomach started to bug me halfway through. And let’s not mention all the side aches.

Jeez. Doesn’t sound like fun, does it?

But despite all that, I did enjoy myself. Maybe not as much as I would have if the negative things were not present, but I tried not to let that get me down. I mean, I was literally running for chocolate – how could it be bad in the end??

I wish I could say that I loved the course, but I was in the middle about it. Yes, the amount of hills sucked, but I only walked one of them. I think I was expecting a lot more beauty on the course since we were running through Balboa Park. But now that I think about it, I’ve never really visited San Diego, so I had no idea what to expect. But from the small glimpse that I saw this last weekend, I loved it. Granted I was in the pretty part of the city, the Gaslamp District. So, the course was tough, but it wasn’t boring and that’s all I can really ask for.

I’m sad to say that I did have to walk here and there several times and ended up finishing 1o minutes behind my mom; I think I simply forgot just how long 9 miles is. But I did run most of the way and I finished! I got my medal and my goodies :)

10341636_10209168059977484_1042204026410426792_n

Isn’t the medal awesome? A bar of chocolate with a bite out of it AND its special to San Diego, something I didn’t know (you can see a better picture here). The hot chocolate was very yummy too :)

Do you want to run for chocolate now? Have you ran any races recently?

Happy Running!

XO Nicole

 

3 thoughts on “Running Chronicles: The Hot Chocolate 15K San Diego, CA

  1. What a cute picture of you holding that well-deserved assortment of chocolate. Running nine miles is quite an accomplishment, especially with zero training during the preceding two weeks!

    I used to have so much fun visiting Balboa Park.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

