Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love That I Need to Gush About (Again)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! As we all know means another Top Ten post! This week’s topic is an interesting one. It’s all about books that I absolutely love but don’t talk about enough or haven’t in awhile.

I like to think that I read an array of different types of books, from Young Adult to Contemporary to Fantasy to a few Classics here and there. I have no doubt that this list will portray that.

Before I dive in, I want to share this quote from Oscar Wilde:

If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.

I reread the books I love the most, so this quote fits in perfectly :)

Now on to my top ten books that I absolutely love that I need to gush more about or again:

Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Okay, so maybe I’ve dropped a couple sentences here and there, but I don’t think I’ll ever stop. I love this book. It’s great, go read it!

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

I’ve read a few of her books, but if I were to reread one, I always choose this one first. Her themes aren’t exactly original, but Dessen is great at creating different voices.

Dracula by Bram Stoker

It’s a classic, one I’ve read a few times. It’s probably the only vampire novel that I absolutely love. I don’t know what it is – maybe because the vampire in the story isn’t romanticized.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

Okay, so I lied. This is probably the other vampire novel that I highly enjoy, but again, the vampires aren’t really romanticized and I think that’s part of the reason why I love it. I really like her writing and the world she lets us glimpse.

Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Another book that I haven’t been shy about loving, but like Shadow of the Wind, I don’t think I’ll ever stop. This series is actually what made me go down the rabbit hole of reading – I discovered that there were other books out there besides what we were required to read in school. This series also started my love for Urban Fantasy.

A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

I don’t remember how I found this book, but I fell in love pretty quickly. It was just different and from what I can remember, it was well written.

The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint

Oh, Charles de Lint, such a storyteller. I have several of his books and hope to read more, but this novel was the one that introduced me to him and a different kind of Urban Fantasy. I just loved it and still do.

Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech

This is the most memorable book from when I was younger. I don’t know the last time I read it, but I figured there’s a reason it’s the only book from elementary school that I kept. I also love the simple yet powerful messages.

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

This book is just awesome. A cult classic. Palahniuk’s voice is different and I love that. The messages given in this novel are great as well.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Okay, this last slot was harder to fill. I wanted to go with 1984, but then I saw Cline’s book sitting on my shelf and knew I had to choose this one. I know i’m not the only one who loves this book. I love the mixture of old and new in this book. It’s also probably the one dystopia novel that I would love to read more than once; Cline just executed things in this book very well.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Love That I Need to Gush About (Again)

    • Loving the book, I would definitely support giving it a try – you won’t know you don’t like it until you try it, right? Thanks for stopping by :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

