Top Ten Tuesday: My Best and Most Disappointing Recent Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! This week’s top ten Tuesday is all about recent ‘5 star’ reads. Since I don’t use any kind of rating system (unless on Goodreads), I’m just going to list what my best and my most disappointing recent reads were.

I wasn’t sure how far back I wanted to go, but I think I ended up going back a few months. Alright, let’s start with the bad first, my most disappointing reads.

My Most Disappointing Reads

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

This book really just left me confused; confused on what the actual main story arc was and confused on what I actually felt about it. This was a book that didn’t live up to my personal hype.

Velvet Undercover by Teri Brown

Okay, so I enjoyed this story and Brown’s writing, but the I was a little disappointed by parts of the ending. But it wasn’t a bad read.

The First Bad Man Miranda July

I think I was just disappointed by what the book actually ended up being about because the idea I had in my head was very different. This was a very weird and quirky read.

Pack Up the Moon by Anna McPartlin

I was disappointed that this story ended up being a lot more sad that I originally thought. This is actually probably a book more in the middle for me.

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

This one was my fault – I absolutely had this great action packed pirate story in mind and so the story fell a little flat for me. But once I got over that, I did enjoy it for the most part.

And now for the good .. my best reads!

My Best Reads

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

A timeless classic. I enjoyed this novel way more than I thought I would.

Spark by John Twelve Hawks

I love Hawks’ writing and ideas; this book reminds me a lot of 1984 (which I also enjoy). I hyped this one up in my mind and was not disappointed. 

Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent

Nugent’s humor in this book is perfect. This book is near perfection. I look forward to her other books.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I’ve heard many mixed reviews about this book and I get it. For me, this book was one of the best reads because I like Moyes’ writing and I think she executed the characters and feelings and of all that really well. I can’t be disappointed by certain events that happen throughout the book because it portrays life and life isn’t a movie.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Another well executed quirky romance story. Well written and the characters were well developed. I really enjoyed this one too.

Okay, so there are my five most disappointing reads and my five best reads. Any that would switch for you? Or that you agree with?

Happy Reading!

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Best and Most Disappointing Recent Reads

  1. I had the same experience when I read Treasure Island – it just wasn’t that great. I’d be interested to reread it though to see if my feelings toward it have changed based on knowing that it’s not that thrilling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

