Top Ten Tuesday: Books My Best Friend Told Me To Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme originally hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! How is everyone’s Tuesday going so far/ how was it? This week is super busy and stressful at work, so I’ve been looking forward to the end of Friday since yesterday.

Anyways, on to the books! Like any open ended TTT theme, I always have difficulty coming up with a really good idea. I went back and looked at some of the books I’ve read recently and came up with the topic of Books That My Best Friend Told Me To Read & Probably Would Tell You To Read Too (*my best guy friend).

My best guy friend and I met freshman year of college, about five years ago. Or has it been six? He’s incredibly smart and enjoys reading as much as I do, when given the time. I started a list on my laptop back in sophomore year of books I wanted to read. He so graciously took the list over and added a good handful of titles, most I’ve never heard of at the time. Unsurprisingly, this list contains more than 10 books. (titles link to Goodreads)

Books I Have Read From the List

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski

Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

The Stranger by Albert Camus

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Books I Have Not Read From the List

 

Area X trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer

The Idiot by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

Ulysses by James Joyce

Paradise Lost by John Milton

The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri

The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus

The Rebel by Albert Camus (to read after Brothers Karamazov – whoops)

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

The First Man in Rome by Colleen McCullough (I think this is the right one)

In the First Circle by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn (I think this is right; too many Russian books)

World Without End by Ken Follett

New York by Edward Rutherford

The Hollow Men by T.S. Eliot

The ones I’m not sure about because I don’t have author names are: Justice & The Forgotten Legion. These two books could be anything.

I also technically read the first part of The Divine Comedy, but I hardly understood it considering I was reading an edition from decades ago. I hope to read it all through one day.

There are so many books on this list of his!! I don’t know if I will ever read them all or not, but there are some that sound interesting.

Tell me, have you read any of these books??

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books My Best Friend Told Me To Read

    • Yes House of Leaves is probably the craziest and weirdest book I’ve read so far. I did like Heart of Darkness as well

      Like

Leave a Reply

