Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Bookworm Delights

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme originally hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is all about those bookworm delights or moments; things that make us love the fact that we’re bookworms. Or that’s how I’m interpreting it.

There’s more to bookworms than just reading. There’s more than just the love of stories that make us up. Or me at the very least. I don’t know if I’ll make it to ten, but we shall see.

Being Able to Give a Confident Book Recommendation

I actually just did this and I forget how good it feels. Within five minutes of finishing The Night Circus the other day, I texted one of my friends and told her she had to read it!

Having An Organized and Clean Bookshelf 

I’m sure I’m not the only one. I used to take out all my books and rearrange them back on to the bookshelf. I always had fun doing that and I loved the feeling once I was done.

Catching a Pop Culture Reference In a Book

I’m kind of stealing this one from The Broke and the Bookish, but it’s still true! I think that’s why I loved Ready Player One, even though I didn’t grow up in the 80’s, I get excited when I really know what’s being referenced or talked about.

Making Friendly Connections 

This continuously happens at work for me. There are several bookworms in my office and I always love when we can talk about the book we’re reading or others we’ve loved. This has also happened to me at the airport – I think I was reading The Rosie Effect – and a woman used it as a transition into a short conversation. I love that books can do that.

I’m Always Traveling and I’m Always Entertained

Books provide the best way to get a taste of the world. True, sometimes I wish I was in certain places in person, but reading gives amazing insights into different places and people. On top of that, I’m always entertained and never bored no matter what I’m reading.

When the Outside of the Book is Just as Amazing as the Inside

I love pretty covers, interesting covers, monochromatic covers, colorful covers, I love all the different ways that a cover can illustrate the book. Or not. Sometimes they’re intriguing in their own right.

Getting Book Mail

No explanation needed, right? I just ordered a bunch of books from Book Outlet and I cannot wait until I come home to find a box full of books waiting for me.

Being Able to Donate Books

I’m always sad to part with books, but I’m equally happy to know that I can donate to the awesome resource that is the Public Library. Although my local one isn’t the best, but still. Someone else may discover a book that I discovered and love it just as much.

When the Title is Referenced in the Book

I’ve seen this one on a lot of other lists, but I love it. I couldn’t tell you why, I just do.

Staying Up Late to Read

I always try to read before I go to bed, even if I can only keep my eyes open for one chapter. But I love how I’m reading and suddenly it’s midnight, but I could hardly care. It’s much  more satisfying to fall asleep after all that.


There’s probably so many more, but these are the ones that came to mind first. And now I wish I was at home so that I could sit in my favorite chair and read all day.

Sigh. The weekend cannot come soon enough.

Which of these are on your list? 

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Bookworm Delights

  1. Yes to confident book recommendations – that’s a brilliant choice this week and I love it because it’s spot on!
    And, catching a pop culture reference – that’s an ace choice because it always makes me so happy when it happens!
    Lynn :D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

