Top Ten Tuesday: Where Are They Now?

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme originally hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! How is everyone? :)

This week’s prompt is all about Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults or YA characters you’ve read recently you wouldn’t mind revisiting in 10 years or so. Or you could pick 10 characters and guess what you think they’d be doing in 10 years or 20 years. OR you could go the other way and wish for coming of age stories for adult characters you love.

So many choices! Since I don’t remember a lot of children’s books that I’ve read, I opted to think about what where characters I’ve read recently (or in general) are in life since the ending of the book(s). Not all of these are going to be from YA, but I will try to aim for that.

Now, where are they now?

Annabel & Owen from Just Listen

I had to put these two on here. I love them, especially together, and I want to know if they’re still together or not. Does Owen still have his own radio show, does Annabel? College?

Jonas & Gabriel from The Giver

I believe they lived. But I want to know how they fared in the outside world.

Harriet from Harriet the Spy

Did she become a writer? A spy? Did she stop spying on people? What kind of woman did she grow up to be?

Libby & Ben from Dark Places

I know that they’re both adults, way past their twenties, but I’ve been curious what happens to Ben – does he get out sooner or at all? Is Libby still trying to not be a working adult? Do they reconcile as brother and sister?

Samantha from Velvet Undercover

I really just want to know if continues to be a spy and if she ends up with the one guy, who for the life of me I cannot remember the name of. Whoops.

Gemma from the Gemma Doyle series

She went to America to get an education – what happens to her there?! She had her whole life in front of her, I want to know!

Maya & Gabriel and company from the Fourth Realm series

It’s been years since I’ve read this trilogy. There were a lot of possibilities of what could happen at the end. It was a satisfying end, but still – as a reader I always want to know more.

Salamanca Tree Hiddle from Walk Two Moons

I love this book! I haven’t read it in years and so I don’t fully remember the ending that well, but I do want to know what kind of woman Sal grew up to be.

Eight! That’s all I can come up with it seems. I wonder if the authors would ever consider doing even a paragraph for any of these characters?

Any characters you recognize? What are some of yours?

XO Nicole

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Where Are They Now?

  1. Yikes, I don’t know any of these characters! I’d only heard of Harriet, but never read the books.
    Perhaps Ramona or Beezus her sister would be interesting to check in with. Did Ramona remain a “pest”. OR The Great Brain, Tom Fitzgerald- did he become a “president” or world leader He was always leading and/or scheming.
    Then there’s the ever classic Nancy Drew or the Hardy Boys..where did they end up….

    More recently Rosie from Crooked Little Heart and Imperfect Birds (Anne Lamott – wonderful at descriptions if you haven’t read her…) In the Imperfect Birds she’s 17.. but “by now” in college – where did she end up, how did the challenges she faced in the sequel work themselves out.

    Great topic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

