Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

I’m so glad that I stuck with The Martian by Andy Weir. When I first started reading it about a month ago I couldn’t get past all the science talk.

I’m glad that I picked it up again once I found myself in a science fiction mood! Can Mark Watney and I be best friends?

The Writing

9780804139021The whole of The Martian felt real. And the writing definitely was a huge part of that.I
loved Mark’s voice. I didn’t understand even half of the science talk, but it sounded legit and it added to an already great story. I also liked the back and forth between Mark’s point of view in ‘log’ form which was kind of like a diary of sorts and third person POV of those on earth and Mark’s crew.

Overall I think Weir executed the writing really well.

“He’s stuck out there. He thinks he’s totally alone and that we all gave up on him. What kind of effect does that have on a man’s psychology?” He turned back to Venkat. “I wonder what he’s thinking right now.”

LOG ENTRY: SOL 61 How come Aquaman can control whales? They’re mammals! Makes no sense.”

The Characters

Mark is the best. He’s smart, resourceful, and witty. And funny. A lot of his reactions are similar to what I think I would say/ how I would react. I was rooting for him the entire time. As for the other characters, I don’t know that I really got to know any of them to care as much about them. All of them were for getting Mark off Mars alive, many going quite the lengths to help, even if they had never met Mark. Just goes to show how great us humans can be.

“If a hiker gets lost in the mountains, people will coordinate a search. If a train crashes, people will line up to give blood. If an earthquake levels a city, people all over the world will send emergency supplies. This is so fundamentally human that it’s found in every culture without exception. Yes, there are assholes who just don’t care, but they’re massively outnumbered by the people who do.”

The Plot

This novel is a pure survival story through and through. Quite the unique one too. One freak accident and there’s a man stranded somewhere, alone. On Mars of all places. Weir did a good job keeping the story interesting with plenty of obstacles and the perfect commentary from Mark, part practicality, part wittiness.

“Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped.”

Again, can Mark and I be best friends?

What I Disliked

The biggest problem I had was all the science and engineer talk. For the most part, I got the gist of what was going on to not make me too confused, but it still kind of sucked from time to time. The farther I got into the novel the more obstacles there were for Mark and NASA, which some of them were small. But I felt like there were one too many or something.

But in any case, it was a great story and I cannot wait to see the movie and see how they did.


This was a short review, sorry, but I’m actually writing this as part procrastination on packing considering I have a flight tomorrow at 8:30 AM. But I also wanted to get this review out since I will be away from my computer for a week!

However I will still be active for the week on my instagram: @sorryiambooked

Have a great week!

toptentuesday_picmonkeyed

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. I have avoided both the movie and the book. I’m rather burnt out on astronaut stories: Gravity, Interstellar and The Martian. Space does not fascinate me. I am intrigued by your excerpts–that’s the sign of a good review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And yes, space related stories aren’t always someone’s cup of tea. I actually haven’t seen Gravity or Interstellar. I enjoyed The Martian mostly because of Mark’s voice – I think I would have enjoyed his voice in any setting, though I do think it being on Mars made it a little more unique for me :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

