30 Things To Do Before I Turn 30

Today is my birthday. Today I turn 25. I am officially a quarter of a century old.

Oh man.

I’ve been pretty mellow all day, I mean I had to considering I had to work today. But it’s kind of weird to me that I only have five years left of my twenties. Before I know it, I’m going to be getting ready to celebrate my 30th!

Okay, let’s go back a few years. I turn 25 today which, yes, means I only have five years left before I turn 30. I’ve seen several friends do a 25 before 25 list which led me to thinking about a 30 before 30 list. I actually went and found many other bloggers who have all made up a 30 things to do before they turn 30 list. I was officially inspired and instantly started writing up my own.

I came to a slight problem pretty soon though. I far surpassed 30 things hitting about 50. Whoops. So I consolidated where I could, like instead of listing out the races I wanted to run individually, they went under one number. That left me at just about 40 things. So I went back through and got it down to 31 things after finding this great quote to guide me:

A bucket list should be full of place you would regret not seeing or things you regret not doing. It should be aspirational, so when you finish you feel a true sense of accomplishment. It should be long, or at least not short enough that you can check everything off in a weekend.

I’m not entirely sure who said this or remember exactly where I found it, but I think it’s a great starting point. Some of my things definitely don’t fit perfectly into this, but that’s okay. Because I know there are some things that I might feel a great sense of accomplishment from finishing where others might not feel the same. Which is totally okay too.

So, finally, here is my list:

30 Things To Do Before I Turn 30

  1. Run the following races
    • Run SeaWheeze 2017 (lululemon weekend in Vancouver, BC)
    • Run a Rock n Roll Half
    • Run a Disney race
    • Run a PDX race (particularly with my friend Sarah)
  2. Visit at least three US national parks
    • Yellowstone
    • Yosemite
    • Zion
    • Joshua Tree, etc
  3. Hike Havusupai
  4. Visit Iceland
  5. Attend a full moon party in Thailand
  6. Travel South America with my friend Caleb
  7. Go on a hot air balloon ride
  8. Write a book
  9. Move out of my parent’s house
  10. Move to a new city (preferably not in SoCal)
  11. Take the GRE
  12. Live alone
  13. Host a dinner party for friends
  14. See the northern lights
  15. Watch a meteor shower
  16. Travel somewhere solo at least once
  17. At least try to learn a new language
  18. Go camping at least three times in three different places
  19. Go backpacking (in the USA or abroad, doesn’t matter)
  20. Become a SoleMate for Girls on the Run
  21. USA Cross-Country road trip
  22. Attend a Pro sports game in the following: Bonus if I can do the Soccer World Cup in 2018, World Series, Stanley Cup, or Superbowl
    • Baseball
    • Football
    • Hockey (for 2nd time)
    • Soccer
  23. Take a non academic class (pottery, baking, cooking, etc,)
  24. Send a handwritten letter to all friends that I have a current address for
  25. Learn how to ice skate
  26. Help plan and go on a Blue House girls getaway trip (my college girlfriends)
  27. Finish the Waterstones 50 Books to Read list
  28. Create and stick to a beauty (hair, skin, etc) routine that works for me
  29. See the following bands in concert
    • See The Lumineers in concert
    • See Mumford and Sons in concert
    • See The National Parks in concert
  30. Start investing my money
  31. Throw a big bash for my 30th

I have 31 because I’m telling myself that I can only throw a big bash for my 30th if I complete the whole list. But it might happen anyways. After going through this list again today, I realize that some of them are kind of weird (i.e. beauty routine), but I didn’t change anything because these are things that I really want to do and/or are important to me.

For me, the most terrifying one for me I think is traveling somewhere by myself. But I left it broad enough that it doesn’t have to be somewhere abroad (though I would probably feel more accomplished if it was).

I hope to be able to update at least twice a year, but we’ll see. I definitely don’t want to end up trying to do everything in the last year. That would be stressful.

Do you have a similar list? I would love to see it! Something  that isn’t here that you would put on here? Let me know!

XO Nicole

8 thoughts on “30 Things To Do Before I Turn 30

    • Thank you! :) I’ve had a couple opportunities in the past to see one, but the plans always fell through, so hopefully it won’t this time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

