Book Buying Habits Tag

It’s Thursday which means it’s Tag Day! I was tagged by the awesome Giovanna at Book Coma to do this Book Buying Habits Tag, thank you!! :)

This tag looks pretty simple … I hope it doesn’t reveal bad habits, though I don’t think any habits related to books and reading could be bad.

The Questions

Where do you buy your books from?

From several different places. I used to be primarily a buyer from Barns & Noble and Amazon. But then I discovered Book Outlet. So, those are my current places.

Do you ever pre-order books and if so do you do this in store or online?

Hmm, I only ever pre-ordered for Harry Potter. I haven’t done it recently. I will for the third book of William Ritter’s Jackaby series though that comes out this fall. I usually opt for paperback and so because of that I don’t often pre-order. I would probably do this online.

On average, how many books do you buy a month?

Since this year started, I think my average is around 3 books per month. Which has gone down in the last month or so because I have at least 30 books sitting around waiting to be read.

Do you use your local library?

I don’t, but only because they rarely ever have a book that I want. It’s pretty outdated. Plus I love owning my own books, but I do donate a lot.

What is your opinion on library books?

They’re great! But I think it’s more powerful to those who don’t have access to books at home or can’t afford to constantly buy books whenever they want. I’m also not always a huge sharer of my books and it sucks when I have to return a book that I love. It’s a mixed feeling.

How do you feel about second hand books?

Totally for them! There was a great bookstore near my college that had a mixture of new and used books … some of my classics are used. I think I even got one that had writing in it, but I can’t remember. They also tend to be cheaper, which is always great. :)

Do you keep your TBR pile on your main bookshelves or no?

My TBR books are kind of scattered, but that does include sitting on my main bookshelves (which is really my only one). It’s driving me crazy that my bookshelf is all out of order.

Do you plan to read all of the books you own?

YES. It will definitely take me awhile since some of them were gifts and probably wouldn’t have made it onto my TBR list otherwise, but sometimes that’s the best way to discover something new!

What do you do with books do you feel you will never read/did not enjoy?

If I really didn’t like the book, then I definitely donate it to my local library. Someone else will probably end up enjoying it.

Have you ever donated books?

Yup!

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

Didn’t need one until this year. I’m actually kind of on one now, well sort of. I am consciously reminding myself of all the books I still have to read sitting on my floor and shelf and so I haven’t bought myself a new book in awhile.

Do you feel that you buy too many books?

I think I do, at least I do in short periods of time. If I spread my buying out more I would feel better.

I Tag …

As always, no pressure to complete this tag!

Drew at The Tattooed Book Geek

Marie at Drizzle & Hurricane Books

Jesse at Books at Dawn

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Buying Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

