Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set In An Urban Fantasy World

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! This week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt is all about settings! Top Ten Books Set in X. I know I’ve already done smilier Top Ten posts, like Books Set Outside the US That I Really Enjoyed. But I figured I would go more the ‘world’ route than an actual city or country or type of land.

Since I’ve always had a love for Urban Fantasy or supernatural books set in our modern world (or past eras), I decided to list my top ten books that fit into this description. If you’ve read my blog over the last year, you’ll definitely recognize some books that I always showcase my love for whenever possible. (titles link to Goodreads)

The Books

The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs

How could I not put the series that made me fall in love with Urban Fantasy in the first place as well as being the series that pretty much reignited my love of reading in early high school.

Rook by Daniel O’Malley

A recent read that I absolutely fell in love with!

The Jackaby series by William Ritter

Although these are easy reads and I believe catered towards much younger readers than me, I still couldn’t help but love the first two books. I look forward to the third.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Gah this book! So magical! I also loved that it was set in earlier times and slowly went through time.

The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint

Another book that ignited my love for urban fantasy, though a different angle than the Mercy Thompson series.

The Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray

I don’t remember how I discovered the first book, but the series totally sucked me in! And I totally almost cried at the end.

Jill Kismet series by Lilith Saintcrow

I am determined to finish this series. I loved her Dante Valentine series.

Sunshine by Robin McKinley

I know this another book that I feel like I’m constantly shouting my love for. But it’s so good and I love that it’s a stand alone!

Walker Papers series by C. E. Murphy

I really like this series because it took a different angle into urban fantasy and it works so well!

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

While I didn’t necessarily grow up with these books the way that some readers did, I did get sucked into them around the time the fifth book came out. A late bloomer. Still great.

So these are my top ten books set in an urban fantasy setting! Any you’ve read or want to read??

Happy Reading

XO Nicole

 

 

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set In An Urban Fantasy World

    • I’m always so happy when I meet a fellow Mercy lover! I’m not caught up with Walker papers, but I do want to continue with it :)

      Like

  1. Urban fantasy is probably my favourite genre yet I’ve only read Harry Potter and Sunshine from this list!? Thank you for all the recs, I already had the Mercy Thompson series on my trb list, but I’ll have to add the rest.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Dresden files haven been around for a long time right? I don’t think I know the Iron Druid one though. Thanks for sharing! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

