Blueberry Glazed Donuts

Who doesn’t love donuts?

Because I love them! But, really, almost anything sweet I’ll probably really enjoy ;)

A couple of weekends ago, I knew I was going to have the house to myself for the majority of Sunday and I thought, why not break out my beautiful KitchenAid mixer and bake something yummy? Plus, it’s been too long since I baked something worth blogging about.

I have a lot of unused recipes sitting in my Pinterest account so that’s where I looked first and the first one I found was this Blueberry Glazed Donut recipe from the Blahnik Baker.

The recipe is for baked donuts with a yummy blueberry glaze.

blueberry donut_1

What You’ll Need

  • You’ll of course need a donut pan
  • Drying rack
  • Music is optional :)

Ingredients

For Donuts

  • 1 & 2/3 cup cake flour
    • All-purpose flour
    • Cornstarch
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted, browned and cooled
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • ½ cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

For Glaze

  • ½ cup blueberries (I used fresh blueberries)
  • 1 & ½ cups powdered sugar

Now before I jump into the directions, you may have noticed that this recipe calls for cake flour. It was a good thing that I looked up if cake flour is different than regular flour because, yes, there is a difference. Thank goodness for this lovely site, Apartment Therapy’s The Kitchn, otherwise I would have been lost.

The primary difference between cake flour and all-purpose (AP) flour is the protein content (which becomes gluten). The protein content of cake flour is about 8%, while the protein content of AP flour is about 10-11%. When you’re making cakes, you want to use a flour that’s lower in protein. It should have a little gluten for structure but not so much that it gets tough and chewy. (The Kitchn)

Directions

Since I wasn’t familiar with making my own cake flour, I’m going to give those instructions first. I’m also provide a link for browning butter (it’s pretty simple).

How To Make Cake Flour

Take one level cup of all-purpose flour, remove two tablespoons, and then add two tablespoons of cornstarch back in.

This recipe calls for 1 cup and 2/3 cup of cake flour and since I’m not that great with math, I just made two full cups to make it easier.

  • Make 2 level cups of flour
  • Remove 4 tablespoons of the flour
  • Add 4 tablespoons of cornstarch back in
  • Make sure everything is well sifted!
  • Take the 1 and 2/3 cup you need for the rest of the recipe

Directions for the Donut Batter

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Lightly grease a donut pan with PAM baking spray and set aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  4. In a measuring cup, whisk together wet ingredients; browned butter, eggs, Greek yogurt and vanilla extract. (The Kitchn also provides how to brown butter)
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just combined (I did this in my KitchenAid mixer). Do not overmix as you will have rubbery donuts.
  6. Using a small spoon, scoop batter into prepared donut pan, filling each about 2/3 full.
  7. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the donuts are baked through and spring back when lightly touched. Let cool in pan for 1 minute and then transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely. While cooling, make the glaze.

Directions for the Glaze

  1. Combine the blueberries and powdered sugar in a blender or food processor (I used a KitchenAid Blender)
  2. Blend together until smooth.
  3. Pour into a medium bowl. [Add some more powdered sugar (one tablespoon at a time) if glaze is not thick to coat donuts]
  4. When donuts are completely cooled, dip each in glaze.
  5. Let glaze set for 20 minutes before stacking or serving. Donuts are best enjoyed within two days.

The glaze, as usual, is where I slightly messed up this otherwise delicious recipe; I added too much powdered sugar. I mixed the original amounts, but I couldn’t tell if it was thick enough, so I added another tablespoon of powdered sugar.

The end result? The glaze tasted like too much powdered sugar and not enough blueberry. So keep that in mind if you think you need to add more sugar.

Otherwise, this was a great recipe! I will definitely try it again without screwing up the glaze.

blueberry donut_2

Happy Baking! :)

XO Nicole

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Glazed Donuts

  1. I have a donut post (of sorts) coming up! I visit the 50+ year old donut shop down the street where the best chocolate cake donuts with cherry drizzle frosting exist. Making my own would incur much overeating. Yours look perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

