Book Review: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

As you may know from reading my blog, I’m quite the lover of Jenny Colgan books. I haven’t read all of her books yet, but the ones I have read all seem to be baking related in some way. So when I came across her recent release The Little Shop of Happy Ever After that is centered around books, reading, and other awesome readers, I couldn’t resist.

The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan tells the story of Nina, a Birmingham, UK librarian who is made redundant and has a dream of owning her own bookstore. (title links to Goodreads)

The Plot

happy ever afterThis book is for any book lover out there as well as for the dream chaser. Nina is made redundant and to hold onto her love of recommending books to other book lovers, Nina
discovers a new dream, a new business idea – a mobile bookshop in Scotland. She’s quick to spar with her grumpy new landlord, but also quick to fall in love with the small Highlands town and all its inhabitants. A road bump here and there, and it becomes quite the adventure.

The Writing

I don’t think there is anything I don’t like about Colgan’s writing. She gives the perfect amount of description to help the reader envision the characters and settings. I could also almost always hear the character’s voices clearly.

The Characters

I really liked Nina and I think she’s a great spirit of every reader out there. She’s a caring and kind person, but it isn’t one to be walked all over, though she has her moments of not being the most rational, but aren’t all like that at times? She has her imperfections, which makes her a great character.

Lennox is Nina’s new landlord in Scotland. Grumpy, but handsome and actually a little bit of softy I think at heart. I imagined him to be the strong and silent type, with some road bumps himself.

Marik is the poetic and lovely man from Latvia that becomes friends with Nina, burrowing himself into her heart. But there’s a few road bumps there too.

Surrinder is Nina’s best friend and roommate from Birmingham. Where Nina is an introvert, Surrinder is more the extrovert. I didn’t really get the big of a feel for her, though I could see how they balance each other out.

What I Disliked

There really isn’t much that I disliked about this lovely book. So what are you waiting for, book lover, go read it! :)

So now I’m off the to the Scottish Highlands to find my own strong farmer and open up a bookstore, haha :) If only the plane ticket wouldn’t cost so much.

Happy reading!

XO Nicole

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

Leave a Reply

