Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Wow! Dark Matter by Blake Crouch was an intense sci-fi novel about the decisions we make everyday and what lengths one man will go to, to get back to his family and life.

Ultimately, Dark Matter (link to Goodreads) was not what I was expecting. All I knew was that it was a sci-fi thriller and sounded like it was something that I would enjoy reading. And I absolutely did!

“Are you happy with your life?”

The Plot

What I liked about the plot was that at its core, it’s pretty simple. Man gets abducted, man is rendered unconscious, man wakes up someplace foreign, man does what he needs to do to get back to his wife and child.

Add in a couple of physics/ quantum mechanics (I think that’s right) theories that are used and you got a unique sci-fi thriller. dark-matter

Jason is kidnapped and wakes up in a world that is not his own. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. Jason is not a ordinary college professor in physics, but a world renowned genius who achieved and created something remarkable yet impossible.

You follow Jason’s journey to discovering what this world is and how he came to be there. You put pieces of the puzzle together along with Jason as you root for him to find his way back to where he belongs – his world with his family. There are of course a few well executed twists and obstacles in his journey.

I found this book to ultimately be about choices because Jason could have slipped into this new world, one where he continued his research that became groundbreaking, one where he didn’t get married or have a family. But he decided that his family was more important than scientific fame.

The Characters

Because this book is mostly Jason’s odyssey to get back to his family, he’s the sole character that we follow and ‘interact’ with the most. I liked Jason as a character. He’s smart and he preserves through every obstacle thrown at him.

Processed with Snapseed.There’s Amanda, a woman from the ‘new’ world that ends up helping Jason. We don’t see her for very long, but I think she acted as a good anchor for Jason to not give up or go crazy during the journey. (I wish I could elaborate on the journey, but that would be giving a spoiler of sorts).

Then there is Jason’s wife Daniela and their son Charlie. We don’t see a lot of them either, but they were definitely a family worth fighting for, I thought.

The Writing

The writing was good, though I don’t think it was spectacular or magical or anything. Crouch’s writing made sense and everything flowed well. I do want to point out that I thought he did a great job describing the theories he used to base the plot on, something that I was grateful for otherwise the novel probably wouldn’t have been as enjoyable.

What I didn’t Like

Like some books, you always want more past where the author decides to end the novel. I understand why the book ended where it did – it allows the reader to use their imagination to figure out an ending – which there are endless possibilities. In no way does this take away from the novel though.

What are you waiting for, go read this book! :) Let me know your own thoughts for this book if you’ve read – I’m always willing to hear other takes on a book!

XO Nicole


I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. Thank you! No other compensation was received.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

Leave a Reply

