Bookish Thought: Fictional Characters I Wish Were Real Life Friends

I decided to go back to a more fun post idea for this week’s Bookish Thought. Similar to one of my first Bookish Thought posts, Fictional Crushes, I decided to discuss some of my favorite fictional book characters that I wish I had as real life friends!

There are so many great characters out there that we either grew up with (Harry Potter anyone?) or are just well developed that they feel like real people that we’re reading about. While I sometimes feel like they’re my friends because I get so engrossed into a book, I still remember that they’re fictional and everything I’m imaging is all in my head (that statement makes me sound crazy). I’m in my mid twenties, but obviously I’m not going to discriminate against age ;)

The (Fictional) Friends . . .

(book titles link to Goodreads)

Cletus Winston from Beard Science by Penny Reid

Okay, so straight from the book blurb, “Cletus Winston is a puzzle wrapped in a mystery covered in conundrum sauce.” What I love about Cletus is that he has this unique sense of humor and way of doing things. Having him as a friend would mean never being bored.

Mim from Mosquitoland by David Arnold

I just finished reading this book and really enjoyed Mim as a character! I feel like our sense of humor would mesh really well.

Nina from The Little Shop of Happy Ever After by Jenny Colgan

She’s a book lover with a strong spirit! I would love to visit her traveling bookshop and become friends with her!

Myfanwy Thomas from The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

Smart, quick-witted, and with supernatural beings. How could I resist becoming friends with her? Plus she needs some according to the book ;)

Everyone in the Rock Chick series by Kristen Ashley

I just love these characters. The shenanigans they get into and the fun they have. I want in!

Mark Watney from The Martian by Andy Weir

We have similar senses of humor, a friendship match made in heaven!

Celia, Marco, and all the performers from The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I guess maybe this is more world envy. I would love to be able to go to the circus and interact with all the performers, with Celia and Marco. These characters are amazing.

So, these are my fictional friends (for now) that I wish were friends in real life. What about you, would any of these be on your list? Any others you would add?

XO Nicole

3 thoughts on “Bookish Thought: Fictional Characters I Wish Were Real Life Friends

  1. I feel like it’s basic to say Hermione Granger but it’s still true. Also Snape. I like snarky people and I feel like if he didn’t hate just about everybody he’d be a great conversationalist. Robert Langdon from The Da Vinci Code and all that, I love art and conspiracy stuff. And I think Agnieszka and Kasia from Uprooted too, because they have the best friendship ever and I wouldn’t mind third wheeling because those two girls are great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

