Book Review: The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

It seems that I’ve been picking books to read lately that have turned out not be quite what I was expecting. Like several of my recent reviews, the first thing that comes to mind about the The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis is that it was different, in a couple different ways, than what I was expecting.

Although, I didn’t necessarily go into reading this book with high expectations or anything, I’m not really sure where it falls for me. What I do know is that The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis is at its core a survival story and learning that sometimes you have to confront the past after running from it for so long.

What do you do when the man who gave you everything turns out to be a killer?

The Plot

Elka barely remembers her life before Trapper, a man who found and took her in when she was seven years old. He was the one that taught everything she grew to know – how to wolf-roadsurvive in their post-apocalyptic world. Trapper became the father she always wanted, but then she sees the Wanted poster in town triggering Elka to leave the only home she’s ever known and set north to find her real parents she doesn’t remember. But Trapper isn’t the only one keeping secrets, and has her path becomes more dangerous when she realizes that Trapper isn’t letting her go so easily, Elka has to confront her.

Some of the things that Elka experiences are close to horrific or just plain intense. But it goes to show how easily our world and its societies revert to what it knows rather than learn from past mistakes and strive to make life better. But no, there are still men and women who use other people to acquire and keep power and wealth. While Elka can easily survive in the woods with what she knows, surviving around other humans is harder.

The Characters

Elka is pretty much the only character we really get to know. The first thing that comes to mind is that Elka is definitely a survivor. She’s strong and fearless. She ends up acquiring a friend along the way, Penelope, who Elka becomes loyal to. Elka has flaws too – like anyone. Part of the reason why she’s running from her past is because she doesn’t want make herself accountable for a horrible thing that she did (though I think she didn’t really realize at first).

β€œYou can’t admit to someone else what you’re too damn afraid to admit to yourself.”

Penelope is the perfect balance for Elka. Where Elka is ‘street smart’ (or woods smart), Penelope is book smart. They’re both smart in their own ways. They becomes loyal to each other as friends, a dynamic I really liked.

The Writing

The writing is probably the one aspect that really pops out to me as unique for this book. The book is Elka recounting what happens up until a pivotal moment in Elka and Trapper’s relationship. However, it took forever for me to get used to the rhythm of her Elka’s way of speaking. Because she was never taught how to write or read that properly, her voice is full of improper English. Which is fine because that’s all part of the story and I give Lewis props for doing that part so well. However, sometimes I found myself really wanting to put the book down because it was so hard for me to get through a chapter.

What I Disliked

Besides the writing, which I’ve accepted, though you probably won’t see me rereading this book, I disliked the ending. Which is very unoriginal, I know. I guess I didn’t like the ending for Elka considering everything she went through. Also, it wasn’t very thriller-esqu to me, but maybe that’s because I’ve read more terrifying books.


Ultimately, I really liked how the author executed everything from the plot down to the writing style, but ultimately I find myself unsure and in the middle about this book considering the only thing that seemed memorable to me is the writing style.

So, have you read this book?? What did you think?

* I received this book for free through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my review in any way.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis

  1. I was such a huge fan of The Wolf Road! I also was not sure exactly what to expect upon starting the title, but shortly found myself completely submerged into Elka’s world.

    The dialect made the experience even more viable. There was a true element of fear for me though. It was more on the psychological front. I found the idea of her history and the revelations that occured to be absolutely frightening.

    I loved your review! It is always so great to share views and compares experiences 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I struggled with the dialect for a good quarter of the book. It was almost one you had to finish in a couple of sittings or you would lose your rhythm. Overall I enjoyed this book, but wanted more in some areas, including the ending. Thanks for the review! I like seeing how each review varies :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And thanks for sharing :)
      Yes, the dialect was hard and I definitely agree about having to read it in a few sittings. And yes, I wanted more from the ending as well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely review! Improper English usage in books is a pet peeve of mine, and I tend to shy away from books that use that kind of speaking when being narrated. This book is on my shelf though, and it just sounds so good that I might pick it up anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think once you get into the rhythm it isn’t that bad. It was still quite the interesting review. Thanks for stopping by! :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

