Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Warning: I think I’m about to enter into my first unpopular opinion book review.

This book …

I’m coming up a little blank. The Young Elites by Marie Lu left me feeling meh. This book wasn’t on my TBR at all until I saw that the library had it and that it would satisfy my letter Y for my 2016 Alphabet Reading Challenge. Since I had no expectations except thinking I would enjoy this book, this book fell extremely flat for me. I think that there were a lot of great things about this book, but just ended up being underdeveloped or something.

And like anyone, I hate to not give a good review for a book, because I can only imagine all the hard work that goes into writing a book and then publishing it.

Instead of doing my usual book review post format, I think I’m simply going to talk about what I liked and what I didn’t like.

young-elites

What I Liked

I liked the premise and the idea behind this book and its world, magic, and characters. Being a huge fantasy reader and lover, I tend to like almost any world that authors create and same goes for magic. Lu created a world that is unique yet draws a lot of inspiration from our real world. I also liked the idea of this main character, Adelina, being more bad girl and not necessarily having or thinking good intentions. She’s set on revenge and making those that hurt her suffer at her hands.

What I Didn’t Like

Speaking of Adelina’s desire for revenge is also something that didn’t add up for me. She is a sixteen year old girl who grew up in an abusive household; she was never good enough for her father. She’s someone who caught the blood fever resulting in her hair turning color and losing an eye. I get that her upbringing influenced who she is, but the basics of her character is that she is a scared young girl who makes rash decisions. There wasn’t really anything that added up to her being a bad girl.

The only thing that goes back and forth is the book’s plot. It’s really about an exiled prince, who is a malfetto (someone who was effected by the blood fever) and an elite (someone with powers), creating a group of Elites to take back his throne from his sister while also fighting the Inquisition Axis, someone bent on killing all malfettos. On the one hand, the plot has its unique parts, but on the other, the plot really isn’t that unique when you look at the big picture.

While I did read the second book, ultimately this book and series was just not for me.

I would love to hear your thoughts on this book if you’ve read it!

XO Nicole

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Young Elites by Marie Lu

  1. Such a bummer you didn’t get all the awesome feelings for this one! I have this and The Rose Society on my shelf, but haven’t gotten around to reading them yet, although the premise sounds amazing for both. I get where you’re coming from about not understanding how she became a bad girl type…it’s hard to really get into a story when the character’s plot feels forced or like something doesn’t quite make sense.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually reallyyy enjoyed the first two books in this series but ended up hating the final one, as it was really messy and rushed. However, I can see where Adelina’s revenge and lack of moral compass can be a bit annoying and come across as someone who just seems too naïve and rash to really consider her choices. Great review though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

