2017 Reading Challenges

The end of 2016 is upon us and with it the end of 2016 reading challenges. This year was the first time I participated in reading challenges and I loved it! I’ve seen he PopSugar one around for years it seems like, but I was too intimated to do it this year. So I decided to go simple and start with the Goodreads reading challenge, which this year was the first year I participated.

This year, I decided to take on the challenge that is the PopSugar Reading Challenge. There are some interesting prompts on there, so I have no idea how it will go, but I look forward to at least trying! So here’s to attempting the 2017 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge!

I’ve talked a lot about the books that I bought over the course of 2016 and how many of them have sat on unread on my shelves for months. I’m hoping to read the majority of those books within the next few months and to help me I’ve decided to partake in the 2017 Mount TBR Reading Challenge hosted by My Reader’s Block. I haven’t gotten around to counting how many books I have sitting around unread, but I think it might be around 10 maybe 15 books. The rules say that it has to be books owned prior to January 2017.

I will also be doing the Goodreads Challenge again for 2017, though I haven’t decided how many books I want to read. While I read way over my 50 books goal for this year, I might just keep it at 50 or up it to 75. I guess I’ll see.

Something new that I decided to do is create my own reading challenge for 2017. The reading prompts are inspirited by national (USA) and international days in each month. I will be doing a separate post with the prompts, rules, etc. for anyone else that wants to do it. I went with an easy title: Sorry, I’m Booked 2017 Monthly Reading Challenge.

Luckily all of these reading challenges allow books to count across all challenges so overall I have to read between 40 and 45 books at least to cover all books.

What challenges are you planning on doing?

~ Nicole

5 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

  1. I have so many challenges I want to do! I’m working on posting about them all. Of course the plain ol’ numbers challenge, a Classics challenge, a Newbery awards challenge (I love children’s lit), an audiobook challenge…I want to do a TBR one too, so I might join you on the Mt. TBR challenge. *all the excited flails*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh man so many! I don’t even know if I will succeed, but what I really hope is that I don’t get overwhelmed with it and get into reading slumps. Good luck with all of that! :)

      Like

      • Reading should always bring joy (well…with occasional exceptions for academics, IMO)! I’m trying to challenge myself without discouraging myself…it’s a fine line. Good luck with yours too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

