2016 End of Year Book Survey

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

It’s New Year’s Eve which means it’s time for another end of the year review! This time it’s for the End of Year Book Survey created by the lovely Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner. You can find her 2016 post here. I did this fun survey for the first time last year (which you can read here) and found it to be a really good, in-depth survey for books read, liked, etc. I also like that she breaks it down beyond just books, she gets into blogging and life stuff too.

2016-reading-stats-pic

Number Of Books You Read: 125
Number of Re-Reads: 1
Genre You Read The Most From: I think it would be Romance

2016-best-in-books

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

(If you have to cheat — you can break it down by genre if you want or 2013 release vs. backlist)

Hmm, this one is hard. Can I give three? It’s between The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Dark Matter by Blake Crouch, and Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I think this one definitely would be A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. I don’t what it was, but it I didn’t love like I wanted to.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

I think The First Bad Man by Miranda July was definitely surprising mostly because it was a lot weirder than I was expecting.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

I don’t really know I ‘pushed’ any books really. I did talk about Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon a lot though and I’ve seen more people reading it.

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Most of the series I read were actually romances, but not as connected as other series. But still I think the best one I started is the Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid. I didn’t really read any sequels this year, at least none worth mentioning and I read only one series ender (that I remember/ know of), but I wouldn’t say it was the best.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Andy Weir or ooh Gillian Flynn! I can’t wait to devour more of their works.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I think Erotic Romance was something new that I explored this year and I had a lot of fun  reading Sarina Bowen’s Bittersweet.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Oooh, I read a couple good ones, but I think the first to come to mind is Dark Matter by Blake Crouch.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

In preparation of me taking a big adulthood step next year by moving out on my own (finally!), I think I might want (or need haha) to reread Don’t Worry It Gets Worse by Alida Nugent.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Hmm, so many good ones. I think I’m going to have to the cover of the version I have for The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt. I love that it’s an old photo and the looks on their faces are great representations of the characters.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

There’s like three! But to give it some love, I’m going to say that the most memorable character of 2016 is Myfanwy Thomas from The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, hands down.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

I have to mention two books: Spark by John Twelve Hawks & The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera because I found them to be both very thought-provoking. Spark looks at a future full of technology and their advances, but also the dark side of that and the impact on society. Kundera’s novel looks more internally and showing that you must live in the present and accept that you have one life to live and so you should work to accept that and be happy with who you are.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

There are several and while The Night Circus of course stands out, I also want to give love to Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Oh lord there are so many great quotes I’ve read this year! I think though I want to share this one from Ken Kesey’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest:

“Man, when you lose your laugh you lose your footing.”

I think this one quote ties together the idea that the moment you find yourself unhappy, you find yourself lost. At least that’s how I see it.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

The shortest book I read was Betting on the Wrong Brother by Cathryn Fox and the longest was Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy.

2016-blogging-and-bookish-life

(I took out one of the questions since it didn’t apply to me)

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I’ve discovered a lot of new book blogs and I love them all! There’s no way I can pick a favorite.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

I really enjoyed writing my review for The Martian by Andy Weir because of I got to revisit some of my favorite funny quotes.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

My best discussion post, which I call Bookish Thought, would be my Why Deep Reading Is So Important post.

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

First thing that comes to mind is entering the world of Bookstagram. Like the blogosphere, it’s a great community and I’m so glad I joined it. You can find me under @sorryiambooked

5. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I think it would have to be trying to stick to a schedule and actually finding time to write reviews and other posts. I’ve also been trying to do more with baking posts, but it’s been hard finding the time.

6. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Definitely my Bumble Dating App Experience post.

7. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Definitely discovering Book Outlet and Book Depository; they got a lot of money from me this year.

8.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Yes, I finished two out of three reading challenges as well as most of my goals!

looking-ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Because I think I’ve had it for at least a year and a half, I really want to open up and read Red Moon by Benjamin Percy.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

I got pretty excited when I found out that Retribution Rails by Erin Bowman is slated to be published in 2017.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I think one of the only debut novels coming out in 2017 that’s on my list is Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

4. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Definitely add more baking and general life-ish posts. While books are my favorite thing to talk about, I do want to see if I can make my blog a little more diverse in content.

5. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I think the only 2017 release I’ve read already is Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson. I think if you enjoyed the writing style of Gillian Flynn, you’ll enjoy this one.


Wow. I forgot how many questions there were and how long it would end up being. But I really like breaking it down and seeing what I accomplished. It makes me excited to see what I can do next year.

Happy New Year! See you in 2017 :)

 

5 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Book Survey

  1. The Night Circus topped my list too.
    I also have a copy of Discovery of Witches but my interest in it has waned since I got it so I’ve yet to read it. I also read a review where the person said it’s like Twilight so that also put me off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay The Night Circus! Yeah, I Discovery of Witches kind just left me feeling meh. I bought the other two books before I started reading it and wish I didn’t because it didn’t leave me wanting to continue. :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

