The Beauty and the Beast Tag

wednesday1

(image borrowed from Kee the Reader)

While I wasn’t tagged to do this tag, I knew I had to do it considering my love for the Beauty and the Beast movie. I originally saw it from Jesse @ Books at Dawn, so thank you! It feels like it’s been awhile since I’ve done a tag and I’ve been meaning to do this one for almost a couple months now.

Okay, so the rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator → Kirsty @ Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

The Prompts

“Tale As Old As Time”: A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading

I don’t think I’ll ever get bored of reading about a technological utopia (or really in some cases, dystopia) or how technology effects society. There are several books I’ve read that have this theme somewhere and I’ve greatly enjoyed all of them.

Belle: A book your bought for it’s beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too

I think it might depend on what you think of as beautiful. My first instinct is to say The Nigh Circus, but I also want to say Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.

6903105

I’m going with Dark Places because I think the cover of my copy is beautiful in a dark and simplistic way and I thought Flynn’s writing was beautiful.

Beast: A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you

her-every-fear

I’m going with Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson. I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway and honestly I kind of completely forgot I entered until I received an email saying I won. But I’m happy that I did because I was surprised by how much I really liked it.

Gaston: A book everyone loves that you don’t

throne-of-glass

Hmm, I wasn’t sure what to put for this one at first, but I think the only one that fits is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I read it when it first came out and enjoyed it purely for entertainment, but I remember thinking it was kind of high school-ish. I read the second book, but ultimately, I didn’t feel like I would miss out if I didn’t read the rest of the series.

Lefou: A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counter part

fangirl

Hmm, he’s not really a sidekick, but I definitely loved Levi, and even Reagan, more than Cath in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Mrs. Potts, Chip, Lumier & Cogsworth: A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

circle

Just because it left a profound impression on me and I think the message is important, I have to mention The Circle by Dave Eggers.

“Something There”: A book or a series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

I actually think I’ve read more romance series than anything else. But those, while connected, don’t necessarily rely on previous books to continue the story. Most of my recent reads actually started out the other way where I was interested in, but then then that interest declined as the series went on. I think the only series that fits this is Harry Potter. I was late to the craze – five years actually. The first book didn’t really  capture me, but on my second try it didn’t take long for me to get hooked.

“Be Our Guest”: A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner

Oh man there are so many! Anyone from Cletus Winston (from Beard Science by Penny Reid) to Sherlock Holmes to Tyrion Lannister. Or Hermione Granger! There are too many options. Clearly I would just have a massive dinner party full of eccentric, witty, and humorous characters.


Like most tags, this one was a lot of fun! If you want to do this tag, feel free to have fun with it! Maybe I’ll go and create another book tag …

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “The Beauty and the Beast Tag

  1. I loved Reagan and Levi a lot more than Cath too, which is funny because Reagan is supposed to be super unlikable and Levi super likeable hahaha
    And I would definitely enjoy having Tyrion over. No one else would have the ability to make better conversation, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

